Workshop II of the IPA Action Group Rock glacier inventories and kinematics took place from 11 to 13 February 2020 in Fribourg (Switzerland). It was devoted to the integration of kinematics as an optional attribute in standardized rock glacier inventories (finalization of Task 1 sub-task 1.2) and to the definition of standards guidelines permitting to derive from kinematical time series of regionally selected rock glaciers an associated parameter of the ECV Permafrost in a climate-oriented perspective (Task 2). It was a combination of practical and discussion sessions.

The workshop was sponsored by the Permafrost CCI Project, the International Permafrost Association (IPA) and the Department of Geosciences, University of Fribourg (UniFR).

  • Program

    See the program here.

  • Venue

    Fribourg is the capital of the Swiss canton of Fribourg and the district La Sarine. It is located on both sides of the river Saane/Sarine, on the Swiss Plateau, and is an economic, administrative and educational center on the cultural border between the German and French parts of Switzerland. Fribourg is accessible by public transportation ( in about 2 hours from the airports of Zurich (Zürich Flughafen), Geneva (Genève-Aéroport) or Basel (Basel EuroAirport).

    The University of Fribourg is distributed between different sites. The Department of Geosciences - Geography is located on the Pérolles site and can be reached in a couple of minutes by foot or by bus from the railway station.

  • Registration

    The registration to the Workshop II in Fribourg is closed.


  • Organization committee

    Local Organization Team

    Chloé Barboux, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

    Reynald Delaloye, University of Fribourg, Switzerland (chair of the Action Group)

    Maria Winterberger, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

  • Scientific Committee

    Chloé Barboux, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

    Xavier Bodin, CNRS / Univ. Savoie Mont-Blanc, France

    Line Rouyet, NORCE Norwegian Research Centre, Norway

    Tazio Strozzi, Gamma Remote Sensing AG, Bern, Switzerland

    Reynald Delaloye, University of Fribourg, Switzerland (chair of the Action Group)