University of Fribourg

The University of Fribourg is a place where learning, research, employment and events all happen at the same time. Its innovative force makes it an important mover in the commercial and cultural life of the region. Since it attracts students and researchers from every part of Switzerland and from all over the world it has shaped life in the bilingual city of Fribourg since it was founded in 1889.

Portrait

GLOBAL WARMING

Global warming is causing new rivers to form on the surface of the Greenland ice sheet.

By using more than 25,000 satellite images, Andrew Tedstone and Horst Machguth, two researchers from the University of Fribourg, were able to observe that the runoff of water from the melting of the Greenland…

All news
POLITICS AND SOCIETY

Elections influence social norms

The results of a recent study involving a researcher from the University of Fribourg have shown that elections can change people's perceptions of what is ethically right and wrong - and sometimes very…

All news
GENETIC

The genetic origins of the world's first farmers clarified

The genetic origins of the first agriculturalists in the Neolithic period long seemed to lie in the Near East. A new study published in the journal Cell shows that the first farmers actually represented…

All news

Course offerings 2022-2023

Late application

Autumn semester 2022

The late application for the autumn semester 2022 is open until 31 August 2022.

Course catalog

Consult the course schedules.

Timetable

Three good reasons to study in Fribourg

Personal. Multilingual. Central.

Find your suitable course of study!

Course offerings

Universität Freiburg

Die Universität Freiburg ist Bildungsstätte, Forschungsplatz, Arbeitgeberin und Event-Veranstalterin in einem. Ihre Innovationskraft macht sie zu einem wichtigen Motor für das wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Leben der Region. Als Anziehungspunkt für Studierende und Forschende aus der gesamten Schweiz und aus allen Teilen der Welt prägt die Hochschule seit ihrer Gründung 1889 das Leben der zweisprachigen Stadt Freiburg.

Portrait

GENETIK

Genetische Herkunft der ersten Bauern der Welt geklärt

Der genetische Ursprung der ersten Ackerbauern im Neolithikum schien lange Zeit im Nahen Osten zu liegen. Eine neue Studie, die in der Fachzeitschrift Cell veröffentlicht wurde, zeigt, dass die ersten…

Alle News
NANOMATERIALIEN

Neue Leitung des Adolphe-Merkle-Instituts

In Absprache mit der Universität Freiburg hat der Adolphe-Merkle-Stiftungsrat Prof. Ullrich Steiner zum neuen Direktor des Adolphe-Merkle-Instituts ernannt. Er übernimmt dieses Amt von Prof. Christoph…

Alle News
GESCHICHTE

FONTES: Ein europäisches Projekt für eine bessere Nutzung mittelalterlicher und moderner Quellen

Seit rund zwanzig Jahren revolutioniert die Digitalisierung mittelalterlicher und moderner Rechtsquellen den Alltag von Historiker_innen: Sie haben nunmehr leichten Zugang zu Hunderten von alten Manuskripten.…

Alle News

Studienangebot 2022-2023

Verspätete Anmeldung

Herbstsemester 2022

Die verspätete Anmeldung für das Herbstsemester 2022 ist bis am 31. August 2022 möglich. 

Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Konsultieren Sie die Vorlesungszeiten.

Timetable

Drei gute Gründe in Freiburg zu studieren

Persönlich. Mehrsprachig. Mittendrin.

Finden Sie Ihren passenden Studiengang!

Studiengänge