Rankings

What are they and how are they made?

In recent years, various institutions have employed indicator-based procedures to facilitate a simplified comparison among universities through rank-ordered lists, commonly referred to as rankings. Each of these rankings assigns different weights to components like information from publications databases, institutional statistics, reputational surveys and other data sources.

However, a common criticism of rankings is that the methods used to elaborate them, especially regarding their components and relative weights, are not always transparent nor compatible with the views and habits of some domains, which leads for example to a bias towards natural and life sciences, or to penalise academic output published in languages other than English.

Our view towards rankings

The University of Fribourg appears in rankings to which it effectively submits data, and in others where the ranking organizations collect information on their own. Our participation and, where appropriate, the provision of data, does not imply unconditional support, and although we recognize the growing significance of rankings, we remain attentive to those practices that conflict with a broader and modern vision of the role of higher education and research, and that may reduce the independence of universities for defining their own priorities.

As signatories of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), and full members of the European Coalition for Advancing Research Assessment (CoARA), the University of Fribourg is dedicated to the responsible use of scholarly metrics in academia. It implies committing to a fair and responsible evaluation of individuals, research units and institutions, based on scientific content rather than publication metrics or journal identity, and the recognition of all types of research outputs beyond publications.

 

Ranking results of the University of Fribourg

The landscape of rankings has evolved from the general academic rankings to include specialized sub-rankings, focusing on specific scientific subjects, geographical locations, and emerging criteria like impact and sustainability. The following sections aim to acknowledge and contextualize our latest results in the most significant rankings.

  • Academic and subject rankings
    Times Higher Education

    The Times Higher Education (THE) World University Ranking is one of the most comprehensive university rankings, taking in consideration scientific publications information and institutional statistics, though still incorporating a factor of subjectivity into the score in the form of reputational surveys conducted by THE magazine among scholars and employers, accounting for up to 33% of the final score.

    • The University of Fribourg ranks among the Top 500 Universities, out of more than 2600 institutions.
    • In THE subject-specific ranking, Fribourg holds a favourable position for Arts and Humanities, among the top 250 universities.

    University of Fribourg at THE ranking

    Quacquarelli Symonds (QS)

    The QS World University Rankings is another comprehensive ranking, although up to 45% of the final score is composed by the results of reputational surveys.

    • Fribourg is positioned 563rd in the world from the almost 1500 ranked universities.
    • Among the top 100 universities in Europe in terms of research impact by citations count.
    • Strong positions in the subjects of Classic and Ancient History, Theology, and Philosophy.

    University of Fribourg at QS ranking

    Leiden (CWTS)

    The Leiden (CWTS) Ranking, developed by a non-profit public research institute from the University of Leiden, focuses on removing subjectivities present in other rankings and relies solely on scientometric data from the Scopus database.

    • The relative impact (pp Top 10%) of the publications of the University of Fribourg is among the top 100 in Europe, and in the top 250 universities in the world out of 1400.
    • Strong results for Biomedical and Health Sciences (220th) and Life and Earth Sciences (228th).
    • Fribourg stands out in Switzerland with the highest proportion of open access publications (>85%).
    • Third highest proportion of female authors in Switzerland.

    University of Fribourg at Leiden ranking

    Shanghai (ARWU)

    The Shanghai Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) assigns 70% of the score to Nobel Prizes and Fields medals, presence of highly cited researchers, and papers published in two journals (Nature & Science), while the remaining 30% comes from scientometric data.

    • Fribourg ranks in the tier from 501 – 600th in the general ranking, from the 3190 ranked universities.
    • In the Shanghai Global Ranking of Academic Subjects, Fribourg stands among the top 200 in the fields of Communication and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

    University of Fribourg at Shanghai ranking

  • Sustainability and Impact rankings

    In addition to traditional academic rankings, the University of Fribourg has embraced new initiatives such as Sustainability and Impact Rankings, considering the environmental and social impact, as well as governance practices of universities, emphasizing a holistic approach to education and research activities.

    Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) Sustainability Ranking
    • The QS Sustainability Ranking 2024 positions Fribourg as 311th in the world, out of the 1400 ranked universities.
    • Fribourg is placed in the top half among Swiss ranked universities.
    • Ranked second in Environmental Research in Switzerland.

    QS Sustainability ranking

    WWF Sustainability report

    Every two years, World Wildlife Fund (WWF) produces a comprehensive report about the sustainability of the Higher Education Institutions in Switzerland. Highlights from the last edition in 2021 are:

    • Fribourg classified among the top half of Swiss institutions with a medium progression respect to the previous report of 2019.
    • UniFR was awarded maximum points for the criterion "Anchoring in university leadership".
    • Obtained an excellent score for its commitment to society.

    Rapport — La durabilité dans les hautes écoles suisses 2021

Contact

Research Promotion Service

E-mail: research@unifr.ch

T: +41 26 300 73 35

More information on ranking results, methodologies and their composition:

UniFr rankings

Rankings

Was sind sie und wie werden sie hergestellt?

In den letzten Jahren haben verschiedene Unternehmen indikatorgestützte Verfahren entwickelt, um einen einfacheren Vergleich zwischen Universitäten durch Ranglisten zu ermöglichen, die gemeinhin als Rankings bezeichnet werden. In jedem dieser Rankings werden Komponenten wie Informationen aus Publikationsdatenbanken, institutionelle Statistiken, Reputationserhebungen und andere Datenquellen unterschiedlich gewichtet.

Rankings werden oft kritisiert, da  die zu ihrer Erstellung verwendeten Methoden, insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Komponenten und relativen Gewichtung, nicht immer transparent oder mit den Ansichten und Gewohnheiten aller wissenschaftlicher Disziplinenvereinbar sind. Dies führt  beispielsweise zu einer Verzerrung zugunsten der Natur- und Biowissenschaften oder zu einer Benachteiligung von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, die nicht auf Englisch veröffentlicht werden.

Unsere Einschätzung von  Rankings

Die Universität Freiburg erscheint in Rankings, für die sie tatsächlich Daten zur Verfügung stellt, und in anderen, in denen die Ranking-Unternehmen eigenständig Informationen erheben. Unsere Teilnahme und gegebenenfalls die Bereitstellung von Daten bedeutet keine bedingungslose Unterstützung der jeweiligen Rankings. Obwohl wir die wachsende Bedeutung von Rankings anerkennen, beobachten wir mit kritischer Haltung Ranking-Praktiken,  die einer breiteren und modernen Vision der Rolle von Hochschulbildung und Forschung widersprechen und die Unabhängigkeit der Universitäten bei der Festlegung ihrer eigenen Prioritäten einschränken können.

Die Universität Freiburg hat die Declaration on Research Assessment  (DORA) unterschrieben und ist Vollmitglied der European Coalition for Advancing Research Assessment (CoARA). Sie setzt sich daher  für den verantwortungsvollen Einsatz wissenschaftlicher Metriken in der Forschungsevaluation ein. Dies bedeutet, dass wir uns zu einer fairen und verantwortungsvollen Bewertung von Einzelpersonen, Forschungseinheiten und Institutionen verpflichten, die auf dem wissenschaftlichen Inhalt und nicht auf Publikationsmetriken oder der dem Impact Factor von Zeitschriften (JIF) basiert. Ebenso anerkennt die UniFr die Wichtigkeit von Forschungsergebnissen an, die nicht in traditionellen Publikationsformaten verbreitet werden.

 

Ranking-Ergebnisse der Universität Fribourg

Die Landschaft der Rankings hat sich von allgemeinen akademischen Rankings hin zu spezialisierten Unterrankings entwickelt, die sich auf bestimmte wissenschaftliche Fächer, geografische Standorte und neue Kriterien wie Impact und Nachhaltigkeit konzentrieren. In den folgenden Abschnitten sollen unsere jüngsten Ergebnisse in den wichtigsten Rankings vorgestellt und kontextualisiert werden.

  • Akademische und fachliche Rankings
    Times Higher Education

    Das Times Higher Education (THE) World University Ranking ist eines der umfassendsten Hochschulrankings, das Informationen zu Veröffentlichungen und aus institutionellen Statistiken berücksichtigt, aber auch einen subjektiven Faktor in die Bewertung einbezieht, und zwar in Form von Reputationsumfragen, die von der Zeitschrift THE unter Wissenschaftler_innen und Arbeitgeber_innen durchgeführt werden und bis zu 33 % der Endnote ausmachen.

    • Die Universität Freiburg gehört zu den 500 besten Universitäten unter mehr als 2600 bewerteten Institutionen.
    • In der THE-Fachbereichsrangliste belegt Freiburg in den Geisteswissenschaften einen guten Platz unter den 250 besten Universitäten.

    Universität Freiburg im THE Ranking (ENG)

    Quacquarelli Symonds (QS)

    Das QS World University Rankings ist ein weiteres umfassendes Ranking, bei dem allerdings bis zu 45 % der endgültigen Punktzahl auf den Ergebnissen von Reputationsstudien fussen.

    • Die Universität Freiburg liegt weltweit auf Platz 563 von fast 1500 bewerteten Universitäten.
    • Sie gehört zu den 100 besten Universitäten in Europa in Bezug auf den Impact auf die Forschung, gemessen an der Häufigkeit mit der UniFr Veröffentlichungen zitiert werden.
    • Starke Positionen in den Fächern Klassische und Alte Geschichte, Theologie und Philosophie.

    Universität Freiburg im QS ranking (ENG)

    Leiden (CWTS)

    Das Leidener (CWTS) Ranking, das von einem gemeinnützigen öffentlichen Forschungsinstitut der Universität Leiden entwickelt wurde, versucht die subjektiven Aspekte, die in  anderen Rankings zentral sind, zu beseitigen und stützt sich ausschließlich auf  Scientometrics aus der Scopus-Datenbank.

    • Der relative Impact (pp Top 10%) der Publikationen der Universität Freiburg gehört zu den 100 besten in Europa und zu den 250 besten Universitäten der Welt von 1400.
    • Starke Ergebnisse für Biomedizin und Gesundheitswissenschaften (220) und Biowissenschaften und Geowissenschaften (228).
    • Freiburg sticht in der Schweiz mit dem höchsten Anteil an Open-Access-Publikationen (>85%) hervor.
    • Dritthöchster Anteil an Autorinnen in der Schweiz.

    Rangliste der Universität Freiburg in Leiden (ENG)

    Shanghai (ARWU)

    Das Shanghai Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) basiert zu 70 % auf der Anzahl an Nobelpreisen und Fields-Medaillen sowie der  Präsenz von hoch zitierten Forschenden und Veröffentlichungen in nur zwei Fachzeitschriften (Nature & Science), während die restlichen 30 % aus szientometrischen Daten stammen.

    • Freiburg rangiert in der allgemeinen Rangliste im Rang 501 bis 600 von insgesamt 3190 bewerteten Universitäten.
    • Im Shanghai Global Ranking of Academic Subjects ist Freiburg in den Bereichen Kommunikation und Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften unter den Top 200.

    Rangliste der Universität Freiburg in Shanghai (ENG)

  • Rankings zu Nachhaltigkeit und Impact

    Zusätzlich zu den traditionellen akademischen Rankings hat die Universität Freiburg  entschieden bei neuen Initiativen mitzumachen, wie z.B. bei Nachhaltigkeits- und Impact-Rankings, die die ökologischen und sozialen Auswirkungen sowie die Governance-Praktiken der Universitäten berücksichtigen und einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz für die Bildungs- und Forschungsaktivitäten betonen.

    Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) Sustainability ranking
    • Im QS-Nachhaltigkeitsranking 2024 liegt Freiburg weltweit auf Platz 311 von 1400 bewerteten Universitäten.
    • Freiburg befindet sich in der oberen Hälfte der Schweizer Universitäten.
    • Zweiter Platz in der Umweltforschung in der Schweiz.

    QS Sustainability ranking (ENG)

    WWF-Rating zu den Schweizer Hochschulen

    Alle zwei Jahre erstellt der World Wildlife Fund (WWF) einen umfassenden Bericht über die Nachhaltigkeit der Hochschulen in der Schweiz. Die Höhepunkte der letzten Ausgabe im Jahr 2021 sind:

    • Freiburg befindet sich in der oberen Hälfte der Schweizer Hochschulen und hat sich im Vergleich zum letzten Bericht 2019 verbessert.
    • Die UniFR erhielt die maximale Punktzahl für das Kriterium "Verankerung Hochschulleitung".
    • Erhielt eine hervorragende Bewertung für ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement.

    Bericht - Nachhaltigkeit an Schweizer Hochschulen Rating-Studie 2021

Kontakt

Dienststelle ForschungsförderungE-mail: research@unifr.ch

T: +41 26 300 73 35

Weitere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen, Methoden und Zusammensetzungen des Rankings:

UniFr rankings (English PDF)