Lecturers Up To Present

2021: Sir Paul Nurse, Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine 2001 (together with Leland Hartwell & Tim Hunt); with his speech "What is life?"

2020: Christer Kiselman, Mathematics Professor, University of Uppsala, Sweden; Member of the Royal Swedish Society of Sciences with his speech "A life with Mathematics and Languages". 

2019Randy Schekman for the Discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells.

2018Erwin Neher for the Discoveries concerning the function of single ion channels in cells.

2017Felicitas Pauss for her outstanding work with particle physics at the high-energy frontier and astrophysics.

2016Rolf Zinkernagel for his innovative work in the immune system and the recognition of virus-infected cells.

2015Alan Heeger for his discovery and the development of conductive polymers. Besides the Nobel Prize in 2000, he won the Oliver E. Buckley Prize in 1983 and the Balzan Prize in 1995.

2014Werner Arber for his pioneering research on epigenetics.

2013Dan Shechtman for his outstanding discovery of quasicrystals. This discovery revolutionized the definition of the word “crystal”.

2012Carl Djerassi for his pioneering work in the development of the oral contraceptive pills, which enormously influenced our society.

2010Jean-Marie Lehn, for his ground-breaking and still on-going developments in theconcepts of supramolecular chemistry.

2009Ada E. Yonath,  for her outstanding contributions in the elucidation of the structure and reactivity of the ribosome by initiating ribosomal crystallography. In addition, she has some parallels with the scientific career of Chaim Weizmann.