The Physics Department university of Fribourg is structured into 9 research groups:

Light Fermion Spectroscopy

Prof. Ana Akrap

Computational Physics

Prof. Philipp Werner

Photonic Nanosystems

Prof. Guillermo Acuna


Magnetism & Superconductivity 

Prof. Christian Bernhard

Ultrafast Spectroscopy

Prof. Claude Monney

Soft Matter Theory

Prof.  Joseph Brader



Soft Matter & Photonics

Prof. Frank Scheffold 

Atomic and X-Ray Physics

Dr.hab. Joanna  Hoszowska

Theoretical Interdisciplinary Physics

 Prof. Yi-Cheng Zhang