PhD in Earth Sciences

Students with a master's degree in Earth Sciences and related scientific fields have the opportunity to obtain a Ph.D. at the Department of Geosciences of the University of Fribourg. The degree is granted to students who are able to demonstrate independent scientific work in the form of a monographic or cumulative dissertation to the satisfaction of their primary advisor and invited external reviewers.

While at the University of Fribourg, Ph.D. students have the opportunity to participate in doctoral classes and to network with Ph.D. students from other programs within the educational program CUSO.

The Doctoral Program for PhD students in Earth Sciences is operated by the CUSO and includes spezialized advanced courses, and field trips. The objective is to foster scientific quality, creativity, and communication within the scientific community as well as with the professional world. Further the programs seek to promote student’s general ability to deal with challenges in contemporary academic, administrative, and business environments, as well as enhance collaboration and synergies between the research groups of the CUSO sites.

Presently two doctoral programs are available in the frame of the CUSO:

Earth Surface Processes & Paleobiosphere
Doctoral Program in Mineral Sciences (DPMS)

Degree conferred
Scientiarum doctor in scientiis terrarum/Doctor of Philosophy in Eart Sciences (PhD)


Commencement of Studies
An application for admission may be submitted at any time

ResourcesRegulation (FR/GE)
Research GroupsOpen Positions

  • Acquired competences
  • Funding and salary

    Doctoral research is either financed through assistant positions at the Unit of Earth of Science, or through third party funding acquired by the supervisor or the doctoral candidate himself. Salaries of employed doctoral candidates correspond to the standards of the Faculty of Sciences.

  • Supervisors

    PhD theses are supervised by professors and senior researchers at the Unit of Earth of Sciences:

    Prof. Anneleen Foubert
    – Sedimentology

    Prof. Walter Joyce

    – Paléontology


    Prof. Esther Schwarzenbach

    – Mineralogy & Petrology

    Prof. Vincent Serneels
    – Archaeometry
    Prof. tit. Jon Mosar
    – Geology & Tectonics 
  • Studies organisation

    Structure of Studies
    No ECTS credits can be earned.

    Doctoral School (CUSO)CUSO Website


    In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

    Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work. There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

    The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.