Five reasons for choosing Fribourg

Why to choose to come to Fribourg? You will find here 5 good reasons to study at the University of Fribourg:

1 - Bilingualism

At the crossroads of Swiss-German and Swiss-French cultures, the University of Fribourg is the sole in Switzerland to offer a full selection of courses offered either in French or  German. Some courses are also offered in English at Master Level. Resources are also available for those who want to learn languages: language classes, self-learning facilities, tandem, etc. form a world of opportunities!

2 - The international and multicultural environment

Since its founding, the University of Fribourg has had an international taste. The many different nationalities of the professors as well as the students make the University a veritable international forum. Numerous student associations, cultural and athletic activities will allow you to meet people sharing similar interests. Moreover, the student clubs will put you in touch with other international and local students and will even organize activities throughout the semester. Meeting people from all cultures is part of the daily life in Fribourg! 

3 - Personal contact to staff

At the University of Fribourg no-one is just a number. Its relatively small size, togeter with the commitment of its teaching staff, ensure tht you can make the most of an ideal staff-to-student ratio.

4 - Reasonable cost of living

Compared with other Swiss cities, Fribourg offers comparatively low living costs. Thanks to uni sport and different associations, you will be able to afford activities and journeys to lower prices.

5 - The student city of Fribourg

Located at the edge of the Pre-Alps, Fribourg moves to the beat of the student life and offers a quality of life and setting that will make your studies fruitful. Its old town, narrow streets, old wooden and stone bridges, museums, restaurants and picturesque places make it one of the most enjoyable medieval cities in Europe. Not too big, not too small, come and experience the Swiss lifestyle and joy of living found here in Fribourg.

 
International Relations Office  -   Av. Europe 20    -   1700 Fribourg   -  Tel +41 26 300 7047  -  international [at] unifr.ch

Cinq raisons de choisir Fribourg

Pourquoi choisir Fribourg? Voici 5 bonnes raisons de venir étudier ici:

1 - Le bilinguisme

Au carrefour des cultures suisse-allemande et suisse-romande, l'Université de Fribourg est la seule Université de Suisse à offrir un éventail complet de formations dans chacune des deux langues (français et allemand). Il vous est donc possible d'étudier en français, en allemand ou dans les deux langues. De plus, certains cours de master sont aussi proposés en anglais. Les possibilités sont offertes aussi à celles et ceux qui désirent apprendre de nouvelles langues : cours de langues traditionnels, auto-apprentissage, tandem, etc.

2 - L'environnement international et multiculturel

Depuis sa fondation l'Université de Fribourg cultive son rayonnement international. Très internationale et fière de sa tradition humaniste, l'Université est à l'image de la Suisse d'aujourd'hui: moderne et multiculturelle. La multipilictié de nationalités des professeurs et étudiants fait de Fribourg un véritable forum international.
Un grand nombre d'associations d'étudiants ainsi que des activités culturelles et sportives vous permettront de rencontrer des personnes partageant les mêmes intérêts. De plus, des associations d'étudiants vous mettront en contact avec d'autres étudiants, de Fribourg ou internationaux et organiseront des activités durant le semestre. Rencontrer des personnes de différentes cultures et différents horizons fera partie de votre vie quotidienne à Fribourg!

3 - Une université à taille humaine

A l'Université de Fribourg, personne n'est noyé dans la masse. Sa taille moyenne et l'engagement du corps enseignant vous permettent de profiter d'un encadrement personnalisé idéal.

4 - Des prix abordables

En comparaison avec d'autres villes suisses, le coût de la vie à Fribourg est relativement bas. Grâce au sport universitaires et aux diverses associations, il vous sera aussi possible de profiter d'activités et de sorties à moindre coût.

5 - Fribourg, une ville d'étudiants

Située au pied des Préalpes, Fribourg vit au rythme de la vie estudiantine et offre une qualité de vie et un emplacement qui feront le succès de vos études. Sa vieille ville, ses ruelles étroites, ses vieux ponts de bois et de pierres, ses musées, ses restaurants et ses places pittoresques font de Fribourg une des villes médiévales d'Europe les plus attrayantes.

Service des Relations Internationales  -   Av. Europe 20    -   1700 Fribourg   -  Tel +41 26 300 7047  -  international [at] unifr.ch