# Ronald L. Watts Young Researcher Award

# **ENTRIES NOW OPEN**

In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) inaugurated the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In 2015, this award was renamed in honour of Ronald L. Watts.

# **Eligibility**

Only young researchers, attached or associated with an IACFS member centre are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral students. Former students of a centre may also apply as long as there is a demonstrable association with the member centre. The age limit is 35 years old at the time of tabling the application.

Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 - 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work. It may have already been submitted for publication but not published. The paper must be written in English.

## **Process**

A young researcher submits his/her work to the director of the centre and each centre may nominate up to three candidates. Nominations and papers must be submitted to ronaldwattsaward@eurac.edu no later than 30 April 2021.

## Award

For 2021, the award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference in Innsbruck, Austria (28-30 October 2021), plus three days' accommodation and a certificate. The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference. In case the conference is held online, or travel restrictions make the participation of the winner impossible, he/she will be invited to the annual conferences of 2022.

For further information and queries, please visit <a href="www.iacfs.org">www.iacfs.org</a> and contact Professor Francesco Palermo (<a href="francesco.Palermo@eurac.edu">Francesco.Palermo@eurac.edu</a>) or Professor Nico Steytler (<a href="mailto:nsteytler@uwc.za">nsteytler@uwc.za</a>).

Argentina Institute of Federalism of the National Academy of Law and Social Sciences of Cordoba (University of Cordoba) | Australia Australian Centre for Federalism (Australian National University, Canberra) | Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies (University of Melbourne) | John Curtin Institute of Public Policy (Curtin University, Perth) | Austria Institut für Föderalismus (University of Innsbruck) | Belgium Research Group for Government and Law (University of Antwerp) | Canada Canada Research Chair in Quebec and Canadian Studies/Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la diversité au Québec (CRIDAQ) (Université du Québec à Montréal) | Institute of Intergovernmental Relations (Queen's University) | Ethiopia Centre for Federal Studies (Addis Ababa University) | France Centre International de Formation Européenne (CIFE) | Germany Deutsches Institut für Föderalismusforschung/German Institute for Federal Studies (University of Hanover) | Europäisches Zentrum für Föderalismusforschung (EZFF)/European Centre for Research on Federalism (ECRF) (Eberhard Karls University Tübingen) | German Research Institute for Public Administration (GRIP) (German University of Administrative Sciences of Speyer) | India Centre for Federal Studies (CFS) (Hamdard University) | Centre of Multilevel Federalism (CMF) (Institute of Social Sciences) | Italy Associazione Osservatorio sul Federalismo e i Processi di Governo | Centro Interuniversitario di Finanze Regionale e Locale (CIFREL) (Catholic University of Milan) | Institute for Comparative Federalism (Eurac Research, Bolzano/Bozen) | Istituto di Studi sui Sistemi Regionali Federali e sulle Autonomie 'Massimo Severo Giannini' | Nepal Centre for Social Change (CSC Kathmandu) | Nigeria Institute of Governance and Social Research (IGSR) | Russia Institute of Economics and Industrial Engineering/Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences/Siberian International Centre for Regional Studies (SICRS) | South Africa Dullah Omar Institute for Constitutional Law, Governance and Human Rights (University of the Western Cape) | Spain Institut d'Estudis de l'Autogovern | Sri Lanka Institute for Constitutional Studies | Switzerland Institut für Föderalismus/Institut du Fédéralisme/Institute of Federalism (University of Fribourg) | United Kingdom Edinburgh Centre for Constitutional Law (University of Edinburgh) | Research Group on Federalism and Conflict Resolution (Canterbury Christ Church University) | United States Center for State Constitutional Studies (Rutgers University) | Center for the Study of Federalism at the Robert B. & Helen S. Meyner Center for the Study of State and Local Government, Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis (Lafayette College)