

International Council of Arbitration for Sport ICAS / CAS

MEDIA RELEASE

ICAS, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE COURT OF ARBITRATION FOR SPORT, APPOINTS ADDITIONAL ARBITRATORS AND MEDIATORS

Lausanne, 26 January 2018 – The International Council of Arbitration for Sport (ICAS), the governing body of the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), has appointed 27 new arbitrators and 2 new mediators. Effective 1 January 2018, the new members can be nominated to serve as arbitrator or mediator in CAS arbitrations or mediations.

The CAS was created in 1984 to provide dispute resolution services to the sports world. In 2017, the CAS registered 572 arbitration procedures and 12 mediations.

In line with the growth in the number of procedures conducted by the CAS each year and in order to allow a constant turnover of its lists, ICAS regularly reviews and increases its lists of arbitrators and mediators, focussing on geographic spread as well as on gender and knowledge of the sports world in order to achieve a balanced list of independent legal specialists (attorneys-at-law, judges, professors) equipped to meet the unique challenges of global sports arbitration and mediation. This year, ICAS is pleased to welcome a former Olympic medallist, Mr Daniel Ratushny, former ice hockey player and silver medal winner with team Canada in Albertville 1992.

New CAS arbitrators, in alphabetical order:

Mr Ahmed Eisa ABOEMARAH (Saudi Arabia)

Ms Susan AHERN (Ireland)

Mr Sultan Fayhan ALOSAIMEI (Saudi Arabia)

Mr Gil ATAR (Israel)

Mr Mikal BRONDMO (Norway)

Ms Rosalyn CHAPMAN (USA)

Mr Richard CHERNICK (USA)

Mr Thomas CLAY (France)

Mr James DRAKE (Australia/UK)

Mr Diego FERRARI (Argentina)

Mr Franco FRATTINI (Italy)

Ms Claudine HELOU (Lebanon)

Mr Ian Giles HUNT (New Zealand/UK)

Mr Peter KOH (Singapore)

New CAS mediators, in alphabetical order:

Ms Julie DURANCEAU (Canada) Mr Robert RHODES (UK) Mr Eligiusz KRZESNIAK (Poland)

Mr Emin ÖZKURT (Turkey)

Mr Marek PALUS (Poland)

Mr Sinisa PETROVIC (Croatia)

Mr Pascal PICHONNAZ (Switzerland)

Mr Daniel RATUSHNY (Canada)

Ms Barbara REEVES (USA)

Ms Annett ROMBACH (Germany)

Mr Alexis SCHOEB (Switzerland)

Mr Ismail SELIM (Egypt)

Ms Martina SPREITZER-KROPIUNIK (Austria)

Mr Rajat TAIMNI (India)

Ms Yuri YAGI (Japan)