Home » Teaching » Master » MSc - Cognitive Neuroscience

Master of Science in Psychology

Option: Cognitive Neuroscience (E)

The program of the Option “Cognitive Neuroscience” focuses on the mechanisms and functions of the human brain underlying human behaviour. We offer in-depth exploration into current state of the art knowledge in the field of cognitive neuroscience, including social and affective aspects as well as changes of human brain functions across the lifespan. Importantly, students acquire the experimental and methodological skills needed to conduct high-quality research projects in this exciting area. Students actively participate in research projects and acquire several transferable skills, such as project management, logical and critical thinking, independent learning, oral presentation, and written communication. Finally, students acquire a broad knowledge base in major aspects of psychology. Evaluation of the students is done through writing exams, essays and/or hands-on exercises, depending on the course.

Study plan Schedule FS
Schedule SS
Flyer

Structure

Modules ECTS
Basis module (E) 15
Module I 15
Module II 15
Practical Experience 15
Master Project and Thesis, incl. Colloquium 30
Module IIIa or Specialisation Module A/B 15
Specialisation Module A/Bb 15

a: Option Module III is obligatory for students of the Master Option “Clinical & Health Psychology”. Option Module III is optional for students of the Master Option “Cognitive Neuroscience”.
b: Specialisation Modules A and B can belong either to the same or to different Master Options. They are taken outside of the main Master Option of each student.

Detailed descriptions of general modules of the Master of Science in Psychology

Basis module (15 ECTS)

This module includes state of the art lectures on important basic areas in psychological sciences. Lectures are mostly held by members of the department and involve topics that either represent basic psychological functions, influences, and processes, or general areas of applied psychology and related disciplines. The goal of this module is to provide students with a basic and current knowledge and understanding of core areas of psychology and of the focal themes of the department research units. All courses are taught in English, and a total of 15 ETCS must be validated.

Module I: Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience (15 ECTS)

The module “Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience” encompasses specialized lectures and research seminars on current topics in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. Students attend classes equivalent to 15 ECTS. 3 ECTS of this module or of the basics module need to be validated in a course labelled as “CogNeuro”. Importantly, the CogNeuro course needs to be validated before starting the master thesis. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge on the current directions and theoretical background of cognitive neuroscience. Almost all lectures and seminars are held in English.

Module II: Methods in Cognitive Neuroscience (15 ECTS)

In this module, students acquire necessary skills to successfully and independently conduct experimental research in the area of human cognitive processes and their neural mechanisms. Courses in this module cover a wide range of experimental research methods, including behavioural methods as well as neuroimaging and brain stimulation techniques. Students attend classes equivalent to 15 ECTS, whereof 3 ECTS have to be validated in a course labelled as “Statistics”. Importantly, this statistics course needs to be validated before starting the master thesis.
The goal of this module is that students acquire the underlying theoretical bases of different research methods and learn to adequately and efficiently construct experiments. As such, students have the opportunity to actively try various techniques in different “hands-on” procedures. Of course, students also learn to master cutting-edge analytical skills to analyse behavioural as well as neuroimaging data. At the University of Fribourg, we also want students to get acquainted with different programming languages and software packages to enhance their possibilities of designing creative experiments. All courses will be held in English.

Practical experience (15 ECTS)

The practical experience is equivalent to 8 weeks full time in a psychology-related clinical, industrial or research environment. The practical experience can also be completed part-time. Alternatively, the practical experience can be attained by lab rotations. The goal of the practical experience is to refine the basic competences of students, to deepen their specialized knowledge, and to broaden their professional networks. The practical experience must be attained under the supervision of a psychologist und must be related to the Master Option chosen by the student. The activities and learning experiences during the practical experience or lab rotation must be described in a written report and will be evaluated.

Master thesis (30 ECTS)

The Master thesis encompasses a research project that is conducted by students and related to their chosen Master Option. Though guided by expert supervisors during the whole process, students are responsible for preparing the project, recruiting human participants, conducting studies as well as preparing and analysing statistical data. Students must actively attend a master colloquium. Finally, students produce a written thesis, normally in the form of an extended research paper. This thesis can be written in English, German or French.

Module III: SCAN (15 ECTS)

The module “Social, Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience” includes lectures and special research seminars with a strong focus on topics and methods in social, cognitive and affective neuroscience. These specialized research seminars will allow students to train scientific argumentation and discussion as well as to hone their oral presentation and writing skills. Up to 12 ECTS related to Cognitive Neuroscience can be acquired from another department / faculty of the University of Fribourg or another Swiss university after agreement of the supervisor. The goal of this module is to acquire more profound knowledge in specialized areas related to Cognitive Neuroscience. Courses are in English, German, or French. However, most lectures are held in English. This Module III can be replaced by a specialisation module from all the other master options in the Department of Psychology.

Detailed description of specialisation modules of the Master of Science in Psychology

All Master Options offer specialisation modules. Students can only select specialisation modules offered by those Master Options other than the one they are enrolled in. For example, students who chose the Option “Clinical & Health Psychology” should choose a specialisation module from one of the three other Master Options (i.e., Cognitive Neuroscience, Developmental & School Psychology, or Work and Organisational Psychology).

1. Specialisation modules of the option “Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology” (F/D/BI/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Methods and Applications in Clinical Psychology and Clinical Family Psychology (CLIN A)

This specialization module includes courses on methodology in Clinical Psychology as well as on selected themes and applications of Clinical Psychology and Clinical Relationship and Family Psychology. The module allows acquiring a profound understanding of the processes that lead to psychological individual or interpersonal problems and psychopathology. Although several courses are held in French or German, this module can in principle be studied in English.

Specialisation module B (15 ECTS): Methods and Applications in Clinical and Health Psychology (CLIN B)

This specialization module includes courses on methodology in Clinical Psychology as well as on selected themes and applications of Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology. The module allows acquiring a profound knowledge on the psychological processes that influence and co-determine illness, psychological and physiological health.

2. Specialisation modules of the option “Cognitive Neuroscience” (E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience (NCS A)

The specialisation module “CogNeuro Methods” emphasizes, through lectures and hands-on experiences, on research methods in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge in the research methods in Cognitive Neuroscience. A few courses also focus on current topics in the area of cognitive neuroscience. Most lectures and seminars are held in English.

Specialisation module l B (15 ECTS): Methods in Cognitive Neuroscience (NCS B)

The specialisation module “CogNeuro Methods” emphasizes, through lectures and hands-on experiences, on research methods in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge in the research methods in Cognitive Neuroscience. A few courses also focus on current topics in the area of cognitive neuroscience. Most lectures and seminars are held in English.

3. Specialisation modules of the option “Development & School Psychology” (F/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Developmental Psychology (DEV A)

The specialization module Developmental Psychology allows students, whose Master option is not “Developmental & School Psychology”, to acquire basic knowledge about typical and atypical child development. Current theories of general development as well as of specific learning and their mechanisms are addressed throughout the various courses included in this module. Although most courses are in French, some may be offered be in English.

4. Specialisation modules of the option “Work & Organisational Psychology” (D/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): “Occupational Health Psychology” and “Human Factors” (W&OA)

The module focuses on two research and applied topics in Work & Organisational Psychology: „Occupational Health Psychology“ and „Human Factors“. Most courses are offered in English and course topics include workplace health promotion, work and family, human-machine interaction, and user-centred product design. Students will acquire theoretical knowledge as well as practical experience in fields, such as developing occupational health and safety programs and completion of usability tests. Although several courses are held in German, this module can in principle be studied in English.

For the ratified study programs, please see the German or French version


(neuro/en/19.07.2017)
Department of Psychology - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University

Home » Enseignement » Master » MSc - Cognitive Neuroscience

Master of Science in Psychology

Option: Neurosciences Cognitives (E)

Ce programme se focalise sur les mécanismes neuro-cognitifs sous-tendant le comportement humain. Nous offrons des cours permettant d’avoir une vue approfondie des recherches les plus récentes dans différents domaines, incluant notamment les neurosciences sociales et affectives, ainsi que le développement de l’être humain au cours de sa vie. Il est important de relever qu’au cours de ce master les étudiant·e·s acquièrent des compétences méthodologiques et expérimentales approfondies et fondamentales, leur permettant de conduire des recherches de haute qualité dans le domaine passionnant des neurosciences cognitives.

Les étudiant·e·s participent activement à des projets de recherche et acquièrent des compétences applicables à différents domaines tels le management et la réalisation de projets de recherche, la communication orale et écrite, l’apprentissage indépendant ainsi que la capacité à penser et réfléchir de manière critique et logique. Finalement, les étudiant·e·s acquièrent des connaissances et compétences dans les domaines fondamentaux et élémentaires de la psychologie.

L’évaluation des étudiant·e·s varie en fonction des cours et se fait généralement à travers des examens écrits, des travaux écrits et/ou des exercices pratiques à rendre.

Plan d'étude Horaire SA
Horaire SP
Flyer

Structure

Modules ECTS
Module de base (E) 15
Module I 15
Module II 15
Expérience Pratique 15
Projet de recherche, Séminaire de recherche 30
Module IIIa ou Module de Spécialisation A/B 15
Module de Spécialisation A/Bb 15

a: Module III est obligatoire pour toutes et tous les étudiant·e·s des options "Psychologie Clinique et de la Santé"; le module III est optionnel pour les étudiant·e·s de l’option "Neuroscience Cognitive".
b: Les Modules de Spécialisation A et B peuvent être choisis parmi les mêmes ou différentes options de Master. Ils sont choisis en dehors de l’option principale de chaque étudiant·e.

Détails des Modules

Module de base (15 ECTS)

Ce module comprend des enseignements portant sur les avancées les plus récentes dans les domaines fondamentaux des sciences psychologiques. Les enseignements sont pour la plupart assurés par l’équipe enseignante du Département de psychologie et inclut des thématiques qui vont des processus ou fonctions psychologiques basiques jusqu’aux grands domaines de la psychologie appliquée et des domaines connexes. L'objectif de ce module est de fournir aux étudiant·e·s des connaissances fondamentales et actuelles ainsi qu’une compréhension des principaux domaines de la psychologie et des thèmes centraux des équipes de recherche du département. Tous les cours sont enseignés en anglais, et un total de 15 ECTS doit être validé.

Module I: Sujets en neuroscience cognitives (15 ECTS)

Le module “Sujets en neurosciences cognitives” offre des cours spécialisés et des séminaires de recherche dans le domaine des neurosciences. Les étudiant·e·s suivent des cours qui équivalent à 15 ECTS. 3 ECTS de ce module ou du module de base doivent être validés par un cours labélisé « CogNeuro ». Il est important que ce cours « CogNeuro » soit validé avant de commencer son travail de Master. Dans ce module les étudiant·e·s prennent connaissance des recherches les plus récentes dans des domaines différents. Il a pour but d’approfondir et d’élargir les connaissances des étudiant·e·s en neurosciences cognitives. La plupart des cours et séminaires sont offerts en anglais.

Module II: Méthodes en neuroscience cognitives (15 ECTS)

Dans ce module, les étudiant·e·s acquièrent toutes les compétences nécessaires pour conduire individuellement des recherches expérimentales étudiant les processus cognitifs humains et leurs mécanismes neuronaux sous-jacents. Les cours offerts dans ce module offrent une vue détaillée et approfondie de différentes méthodes expérimentales, telles les méthodes comportementales, les techniques de stimulation cérébrale ainsi que l’imagerie fonctionnelle. Les étudiant·e·s suivent des cours qui équivalent à 15 ECTS, dont 3 ECTS doivent être validés par un cours labélisé « Statistics ». Il est important que ce cours « Statistics » soit validé avant de commencer son travail de Master.

Le but de ce module est de permettre aux étudiant·e·s d’acquérir les bases théoriques des différentes méthodes de recherche afin de construire et mener adéquatement leurs propres projets. Ainsi, les étudiant·e·s ont l’opportunité d’essayer concrètement différentes techniques lors d’exercices et de procédures pratiques. Bien entendu, les étudiant·e·s apprennent également à maîtriser des techniques d’analyses de données très difficiles et stimulantes pour le traitement des données comportementales et des résultats trouvés en neuroimagerie. A l’Université de Fribourg, nous souhaitons également que les étudiant·e·s se familiarisent avec différents logiciels de programmation, afin de leur donner de nombreuses possibilités pour construire des expériences créatives. Tous les cours de ce module sont donnés en anglais.

Expérience Pratique (15 ECTS)

L'expérience pratique doit être équivalente à huit semaines de travail à 100% dans un environnement clinique, industriel ou de recherche lié à la psychologie. L'expérience pratique peut également être effectuée à temps partiel. Alternativement, elle peut être effectuée entre plusieurs laboratoires de recherche (nommé « Lab rotations »). Le but de l'expérience pratique est d'affiner les compétences de base des étudiant·e·s, d'approfondir leurs connaissances spécifiques à leur option et plus largement leur réseau professionnel. L'expérience pratique doit être effectuée sous la supervision d'un psychologue et doit être en lien avec l’option de master choisie par l’étudiant. Les activités menées par les étudiant·e·s ainsi que les acquis effectués au cours de l'expérience pratique ou des « Lab rotations » sont décrits et évalués dans un rapport écrit.

Travail de Master (30 ECTS)

Le travail de Master est composé principalement d’un projet de recherche élaboré et mené par les étudiant·e·s dans l'option choisie. Bien que guidés par une supervision experte pendant tout le processus, les étudiant·e·s sont responsables de la préparation du projet, du recrutement des participant·e·s, de la réalisation de l'étude, de la préparation et de l'analyse des données statistiques. En complément, les étudiant·e·s doivent participer activement à un séminaire de recherche. Enfin, les étudiant·e·s doivent rédiger un mémoire, normalement sous la forme d'un long article de recherche. Ce travail peut être rédigé en anglais, allemand ou français.

Module III: SCAN (15 ECTS)

Dans le module “Social, Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience”, des cours ainsi que des séminaires de recherche spécialisés sont offerts dans le domaine des neurosciences sociales, affectives et cognitives. Les séminaires de recherche offrent la possibilité aux étudiant·e·s d’apprendre à écrire scientifiquement, de développer des compétences d’argumentation et de discussion scientifique, ainsi que de présenter oralement leurs projets de recherche. Jusqu’à 12 crédits (dans le domaine des neurosciences) peuvent dans ce module être acquis dans une autre faculté, un autre département ou une autre Université Suisse après accord des personnes en charge de la supervision. Le but de ce module est de permettre aux étudiant·e·s d’acquérir des connaissances approfondies dans différents domaines spécialisés des neurosciences cognitives. Les cours sont donnés en anglais, français et allemand. La plupart des cours sont cependant données en anglais. Ce module III peut être remplacé par un module de spécialisation des autres options offertes de Master.

Détails des Modules de Spécialisation du Master en Psychologie

Toutes les options du Master offrent des modules de spécialisation. Les étudiant·e·s ne peuvent choisir des modules de spécialisation qu’en dehors de l’option de Master dans laquelle elles ou ils sont inscrit·e·s. Par exemple, une étudiante ayant choisi l’option “Psychologie Clinique et Psychologie de la Santé” doit choisir un module de spécialisation dans une des trois autres options de Master (i.e., Neuroscience Cognitive, Psychologie du Développement & Scolaire, ou Psychologie du Travail et des Organisations).

1. Modules de spécialisation de l’option « Psychologie clinique et psychologie de la santé » (F/D/BI/E)

Module de spécialisation A (15 ECTS): Méthodes et applications en psychologie clinique et en psychologie clinique de la famille (CLIN A)

Ce module de spécialisation contient des cours sur les bases méthodologiques de la psychologie clinique ainsi que sur des thèmes choisis de la psychologie clinique et de la psychologie clinique de la famille et du couple ainsi que de leurs applications. Ce module permet aux étudiant·e·s d’acquérir un savoir approfondi des processus qui sont impliqués dans le développement de problèmes psychologiques ou interpersonnels ainsi dans les troubles psychiques. Bien que plusieurs cours sont proposés en français ou en allemand, il est possible, en principe, de suivre ce module en anglais.

Module de spécialisation B (15 ECTS): Méthodes et applications en psychologie clinique et en psychologie de la santé (CLIN B)

Ce module de spécialisation contient des cours sur les bases méthodologiques de la psychologie clinique ainsi que sur des thèmes choisis de la psychologie clinique et de la psychologie de la santé ainsi que de leurs applications. Ce module permet aux étudiant·e·s d’acquérir un savoir solide sur les processus qui sont impliqués dans la santé et les maladies physiques et psychiques.

2. Modules de spécialisation de l’option « Neuroscience Cognitive » (E)

Module de spécialisation A (15 ECTS): Sujets en neurosciences cognitives (NCS A)

Ce module de spécialisation offre des cours et séminaire de recherche dans le domaine des neurosciences. Dans ce module, les étudiant·e·s prennent connaissance des recherches les plus récentes dans des domaines différents. Il a pour but d’approfondir et d’élargir les connaissances des étudiant·e·s en neurosciences cognitives. Quelques cours peuvent aussi être focalisés sur les méthodes de recherche. La plupart des cours et séminaires sont offerts en anglais.

Module de spécialisation B (15 ECTS): Methodes en neurosciences cognitives (NCS B)

Ce module de spécialisation offre des séminaires de recherche ainsi que des exercices pratiques permettant aux étudiant·e·s de développer des compétences avancées en méthodologie et analyse de données. Le but de ce module est d’acquérir des connaissances approfondies dans les méthodes de recherche utilisées en neurosciences cognitives. Quelques cours peuvent aussi être davantage focalisés sur les « topics », permettant aux étudiant·e·s d’élargir leurs connaissances dans différents domaines des neurosciences.

3. Modules de spécialisation de l’option « Psychologie du Développement & Scolaire » (F/E)

Module de spécialisation A (15 ECTS): Psychologie du développement (DEV A)

Le module de spécialisation Psychologie du développement permet à l’étudiant·e dont l’option de Master ne porte pas sur la psychologie du développement d’acquérir des connaissances fondamentales sur le développement typique et atypique de l’enfant. Autant les théories actuelles du développement général que les apprentissages spécifiques et leurs mécanismes sont abordés au travers les différents cours composant ce module. Bien que la plupart des cours soit en français, certains peuvent être donnés en anglais.

4. Modules de spécialisation de l’option « Psychologie du travail et des organisations » (D/E)

Module de spécialisation A (15 ECTS): « Occupational Health Psychology » et « Human Factors » (W&OA)

Ce module approfondi deux domaines appliqués et de recherche de la psychologie du travail et des organisations: « Occupational Health Psychology » et « Human Factors » . La plupart des cours de ce module sont données en anglais, et comporte des enseignements comme la promotion de la santé au travail, famille et travail, l’interaction humain-machine et le développement de produits orienté vers l’utilisation. Ce module permet aux étudiant·e·s d’acquérir, en plus des compétences théoriques, des compétences pratiques, comme par exemple la conception de mesures pour la promotion de la santé au travail ou la réalisation de tests d’utilisation). Bien que plusieurs cours sont proposés en français ou en allemand, il est possible, en principe, de suivre ce module en anglais.

Programme d'étude ratifié


(neuro/fr/19.07.2017)
Département de Psychologie - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University