Research led by my team is working in the field of mathematic cognition and working memory. These two topics are however not independent from each other and some of my work is at the crossroad from both. Moreover, for each topic, more applied work on education, re-education or the evaluation of cognitive deficiencies are completing fundamental research.

Working memory

Working memory is a mental structure allowing simultaneous temporary maintaining and information treatment during complex cognitive tasks. The TBRS model (Time-Based Resource-Sharing model) that I developed with Prof. Pierre Barrouillet is the first model to take into account temporal constraints in working memory functioning and cognitive cost led by some mental activities. After numerous researches with young adults in verbal and visuo-spatial domains, we currently work to acquire a better understanding of typical and atypical child development from 2 year old infants.

Mathematical cognition 

In this domain I’m interested in the very first numeric activities: quantification activities allowing to determine how many objects there are in a collection and numeric transcoding allowing code switching, as in a number dictation task. These activities are at the root of allchildren’s future numeric and arithmetic learning.

Department of Psychology - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University

Les recherches que mène mon équipe se regroupent autour de deux thématiques, la cognition mathématique et la mémoire de travail. Ces deux thèmes ne sont pas pour autant indépendants l’un de l’autre, et certains de mes travaux se trouvent à l’intersection des deux. De plus, pour chacun de ces thèmes, des travaux plus appliqués portant sur l’éducation, la rééducation ou l’évaluation de déficit viennent compléter la recherche fondamentale.

La mémoire de travail

La mémoire de travail est une structure mentale permettant d'effectuer simultanément le maintien temporaire et la manipulation d'informations pendant la réalisation de tâches cognitives complexes. Le modèle TBRS (Time-Based Resource-Sharing model que j’ai élaboré avec le Prof. Pierre Barrouillet est le premier modèle à prendre en compte les contraintes temporelles dans le fonctionnement de la mémoire de travail et le coût cognitif entraîné par certaines activités mentales. Après de nombreux travaux chez l'adulte jeune dans le domaine verbal et visuo-spatial, nous travaillons actuellement à mieux comprendre le développement typique et atypique chez l’enfant à partir de 2 ans.

La cognition mathématique

Dans cet domaine, je m'intéresse aux toutes premières activités numériques: les activités de quantification qui permettent de déterminer combien il y a d'objets dans une collection, et le transcodage numérique qui permet le passage d'un code à un autre, comme lors de la dictée de nombres. Ces activités sont à la source de tous les apprentissages numériques et arithmétiques futurs chez l'enfant.

Département de Psychologie - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University