Home » Teaching » Master » MSc - Cognitive Neuroscience

Master of Science in Psychology

Option: Cognitive Neuroscience (E)

The program of the Option “Cognitive Neuroscience” focuses on the mechanisms and functions of the human brain underlying human behaviour. We offer in-depth exploration into current state of the art knowledge in the field of cognitive neuroscience, including social and affective aspects as well as changes of human brain functions across the lifespan. Importantly, students acquire the experimental and methodological skills needed to conduct high-quality research projects in this exciting area. Students actively participate in research projects and acquire several transferable skills, such as project management, logical and critical thinking, independent learning, oral presentation, and written communication. Finally, students acquire a broad knowledge base in major aspects of psychology. Evaluation of the students is done through writing exams, essays and/or hands-on exercises, depending on the course.

Study plan Schedule FS
Schedule SS
Flyer

Structure

Modules ECTS
Basis module (E) 15
Module I 15
Module II 15
Practical Experience 15
Master Project and Thesis, incl. Colloquium 30
Module IIIa or Specialisation Module A/B 15
Specialisation Module A/Bb 15

a: Option Module III is obligatory for students of the Master Option “Clinical & Health Psychology”. Option Module III is optional for students of the Master Option “Cognitive Neuroscience”.
b: Specialisation Modules A and B can belong either to the same or to different Master Options. They are taken outside of the main Master Option of each student.

Detailed descriptions of general modules of the Master of Science in Psychology

Basis module (15 ECTS)

This module includes state of the art lectures on important basic areas in psychological sciences. Lectures are mostly held by members of the department and involve topics that either represent basic psychological functions, influences, and processes, or general areas of applied psychology and related disciplines. The goal of this module is to provide students with a basic and current knowledge and understanding of core areas of psychology and of the focal themes of the department research units. All courses are taught in English, and a total of 15 ETCS must be validated.

Module I: Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience (15 ECTS)

The module “Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience” encompasses specialized lectures and research seminars on current topics in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. Students attend classes equivalent to 15 ECTS. 3 ECTS of this module or of the basics module need to be validated in a course labelled as “CogNeuro”. Importantly, the CogNeuro course needs to be validated before starting the master thesis. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge on the current directions and theoretical background of cognitive neuroscience. Almost all lectures and seminars are held in English.

Module II: Methods in Cognitive Neuroscience (15 ECTS)

In this module, students acquire necessary skills to successfully and independently conduct experimental research in the area of human cognitive processes and their neural mechanisms. Courses in this module cover a wide range of experimental research methods, including behavioural methods as well as neuroimaging and brain stimulation techniques. Students attend classes equivalent to 15 ECTS, whereof 3 ECTS have to be validated in a course labelled as “Statistics”. Importantly, this statistics course needs to be validated before starting the master thesis.
The goal of this module is that students acquire the underlying theoretical bases of different research methods and learn to adequately and efficiently construct experiments. As such, students have the opportunity to actively try various techniques in different “hands-on” procedures. Of course, students also learn to master cutting-edge analytical skills to analyse behavioural as well as neuroimaging data. At the University of Fribourg, we also want students to get acquainted with different programming languages and software packages to enhance their possibilities of designing creative experiments. All courses will be held in English.

Practical experience (15 ECTS)

The practical experience is equivalent to 8 weeks full time in a psychology-related clinical, industrial or research environment. The practical experience can also be completed part-time. Alternatively, the practical experience can be attained by lab rotations. The goal of the practical experience is to refine the basic competences of students, to deepen their specialized knowledge, and to broaden their professional networks. The practical experience must be attained under the supervision of a psychologist und must be related to the Master Option chosen by the student. The activities and learning experiences during the practical experience or lab rotation must be described in a written report and will be evaluated.

Master thesis (30 ECTS)

The Master thesis encompasses a research project that is conducted by students and related to their chosen Master Option. Though guided by expert supervisors during the whole process, students are responsible for preparing the project, recruiting human participants, conducting studies as well as preparing and analysing statistical data. Students must actively attend a master colloquium. Finally, students produce a written thesis, normally in the form of an extended research paper. This thesis can be written in English, German or French.

Module III: SCAN (15 ECTS)

The module “Social, Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience” includes lectures and special research seminars with a strong focus on topics and methods in social, cognitive and affective neuroscience. These specialized research seminars will allow students to train scientific argumentation and discussion as well as to hone their oral presentation and writing skills. Up to 12 ECTS related to Cognitive Neuroscience can be acquired from another department / faculty of the University of Fribourg or another Swiss university after agreement of the supervisor. The goal of this module is to acquire more profound knowledge in specialized areas related to Cognitive Neuroscience. Courses are in English, German, or French. However, most lectures are held in English. This Module III can be replaced by a specialisation module from all the other master options in the Department of Psychology.

Detailed description of specialisation modules of the Master of Science in Psychology

All Master Options offer specialisation modules. Students can only select specialisation modules offered by those Master Options other than the one they are enrolled in. For example, students who chose the Option “Clinical & Health Psychology” should choose a specialisation module from one of the three other Master Options (i.e., Cognitive Neuroscience, Developmental & School Psychology, or Work and Organisational Psychology).

1. Specialisation modules of the option “Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology” (F/D/BI/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Methods and Applications in Clinical Psychology and Clinical Family Psychology (CLIN A)

This specialization module includes courses on methodology in Clinical Psychology as well as on selected themes and applications of Clinical Psychology and Clinical Relationship and Family Psychology. The module allows acquiring a profound understanding of the processes that lead to psychological individual or interpersonal problems and psychopathology. Although several courses are held in French or German, this module can in principle be studied in English.

Specialisation module B (15 ECTS): Methods and Applications in Clinical and Health Psychology (CLIN B)

This specialization module includes courses on methodology in Clinical Psychology as well as on selected themes and applications of Clinical Psychology and Health Psychology. The module allows acquiring a profound knowledge on the psychological processes that influence and co-determine illness, psychological and physiological health.

2. Specialisation modules of the option “Cognitive Neuroscience” (E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Current Topics in Cognitive Neuroscience (NCS A)

The specialisation module “CogNeuro Methods” emphasizes, through lectures and hands-on experiences, on research methods in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge in the research methods in Cognitive Neuroscience. A few courses also focus on current topics in the area of cognitive neuroscience. Most lectures and seminars are held in English.

Specialisation module l B (15 ECTS): Methods in Cognitive Neuroscience (NCS B)

The specialisation module “CogNeuro Methods” emphasizes, through lectures and hands-on experiences, on research methods in the area of human cognitive neuroscience. The goal of this module is to acquire deeper knowledge in the research methods in Cognitive Neuroscience. A few courses also focus on current topics in the area of cognitive neuroscience. Most lectures and seminars are held in English.

3. Specialisation modules of the option “Development & School Psychology” (F/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): Developmental Psychology (DEV A)

The specialization module Developmental Psychology allows students, whose Master option is not “Developmental & School Psychology”, to acquire basic knowledge about typical and atypical child development. Current theories of general development as well as of specific learning and their mechanisms are addressed throughout the various courses included in this module. Although most courses are in French, some may be offered be in English.

4. Specialisation modules of the option “Work & Organisational Psychology” (D/E)

Specialisation module A (15 ECTS): “Occupational Health Psychology” and “Human Factors” (W&OA)

The module focuses on two research and applied topics in Work & Organisational Psychology: „Occupational Health Psychology“ and „Human Factors“. Most courses are offered in English and course topics include workplace health promotion, work and family, human-machine interaction, and user-centred product design. Students will acquire theoretical knowledge as well as practical experience in fields, such as developing occupational health and safety programs and completion of usability tests. Although several courses are held in German, this module can in principle be studied in English.

For the ratified study programs, please see the German or French version


(neuro/en/19.07.2017)
Department of Psychology - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University

Home » Lehre » Master » MSc - Cognitive Neuroscience

Master of Science in Psychology

Option: Kognitive Neurowissenschaften (E)

Der Fokus des Programms der Option “Kognitive Neurowissenschaften” liegt auf den Mechanismen und Funktionen des menschlichen Gehirns, die dem menschlichen Denken, Erleben und Verhalten zu Grund liegen. Wir bieten einen vertieften und umfassenden Einblick in aktuelle und moderne Erkenntnisse aus dem Bereich der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften. Zusätzlich umfasst das Kursprogramm auch Themenbereiche der sozialen und affektiven Neurowissenschaften sowie Themen aus der Entwicklung menschlicher Hirnfunktionen über die Lebensspanne. Insbesondere erlernen unsere Studierenden die grundlegenden experimentellen und methodischen Fähigkeiten, die für die erfolgreiche Durchführung von experimenteller Forschung in diesem spannenden Bereich notwendig sind. Während des Kursprogramms führen Studierende aktiv wissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekte durch. Weiterhin erlernen sie relevante und übertragbare allgemeine Fähigkeiten wie z.B. Projektmanagement, logisches und kritisches Denken, unabhängiges Lernen und Arbeiten, das Halten von wissenschaftlichen Vorträgen sowie wissenschaftliches Schreiben. Zusätzlich erwerben sie ein fundiertes Wissen in wichtigen Schwerpunktbereichen der Psychologie. Die Evaluation der Studierenden variiert zwischen den verschiedenen Kursen und wird im Allgemeinen durch schriftliche Prüfungen, Hausarbeiten oder praktische Übungen durchgeführt.

Studienplan Stundenplan HS
Stundenplan FS
Flyer

Struktur

Modules ECTS
Basismodul (E) 15
Modul I 15
Modul II 15
Praktische Erfahrung 15
Masterthese, Masterkolloquium 30
Modul IIIa oder Spezialisierungsmodule A/B 15
Spezialisierungsmodule A/Bb 15

a: Das Modul III ist obligatorisch für Studierende in der Masteroption “Klinische und Gesundheitspsychologie”. Modul III ist optional für Studierende der Option “Kognitive Neurowissenschaften”
b: Die Spezialisierungsmodule A und B können von derselben oder unterschiedlichen Masteroptionen gewählt werden. Sie dürfen nicht zu der gewählten Hauptoption eines Studierenden gehören.

Detaillierte Beschreibung der allgemeinen Module

Basismodul (15 ECTS)

Das Basismodul umfasst allgemeine Vorlesungen über aktuelle und wichtige Themen der wissenschaftlichen Psychologie. Die Vorlesungen werden hauptsächlich von Mitgliedern des Departments für Psychologie der Universität Freiburg gehalten. Thematisch umfassen diese Vorlesungen entweder grundlegende psychologische Funktionen, Einflüsse und Prozesse oder beziehen sich auf allgemeine Bereiche psychologischer Anwendungen und verwandte Disziplinen. Das Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, Studierende ein aktuelles Basiswissen über Kernbereiche der Psychologie sowie den thematischen Schwerpunkten des Departments zu vermitteln. Alle Vorlesungen werden in englischer Sprache gehalten, und insgesamt müssen 15 ETCS validiert werden.

Modul I: Aktuelle Themen der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften (15 ECTS)

Das Modul “Aktuelle Themen der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften“ umfasst spezialisierte Vorlesungen und Forschungsseminare zu aktuellen Themen aus dem Bereich der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften beim Menschen. Studierende belegen Kurse von insgesamt 15 ECTS. 3 ECTS von diesem Modul oder dem Basismodul müssen in einem Kurs validiert werden, der mit „CogNeuro“ gekennzeichnet ist. Dieser „CogNeuro“ Kurs muss vor dem Beginn der Masterthesis erfolgreich validiert worden sein. Das Ziel des Moduls ist es, ein vertieftes Wissen in aktuellen Themenbereichen sowie über den theoretischen Hintergrund der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften zu erwerben. Die meisten Vorlesungen und Seminare werden in englischer Sprache durchgeführt.

Modul II: Methoden der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften (15 ECTS)

In diesem Modul lernen Studierende die notwendigen methodischen Fähigkeiten, um erfolgreich und selbstständig experimentelle Forschung im Bereich der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften und der neuronalen Mechanismen des Gehirns durchzuführen. Die Kurse in diesem Modul umfassen eine grosse Spanne experimenteller Forschungstechniken und reichen von Methoden der Verhaltensmessung über Methoden der neuronalen Bildgebung bis hin zu Methoden der Hirnstimulation. Studierende belegen Kurse von insgesamt 15 ECTS. 3 ECTS von diesem Modul müssen in einem Kurs validiert werden, der mit „Statistics“ gekennzeichnet ist. Dieser „Statistics“ Kurs muss vor dem Beginn der Masterthesis erfolgreich validiert worden sein. Das Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, Studierenden die theoretische Basis der verschiedenen Forschungsmethoden zu vermitteln, so dass diese die erlernten Methoden richtig anwenden und effiziente Experimente konstruieren können. Studierenden haben die Möglichkeit, die verschiedenen Forschungsmethoden konkret auszuprobieren und anzuwenden und somit konkrete Erfahrung mit diesen Methoden zu sammeln. Natürlich werden Studierende ebenfalls in verschiedenen anspruchsvollen Analysetechniken von Verhaltens- und Bildgebungsdaten ausgebildet. An der Universität Freiburg möchten wir zusätzlich, dass Studierende verschiedene Analyseprogramme lernen sowie Programmierfähigkeit entwickeln, um ihre Möglichkeit der Erstellung kreativer Forschungsexperimente zu verbessern. Alle Kurse werden in englischer Sprache gehalten.

Praktische Erfahrung (15 ECTS)

Die praktische Erfahrung entspricht einer Arbeitszeit von 8 Wochen in Vollzeit in einem Psychologie–bezogenen klinischen, industriellen oder Forschungsumfeld. Die praktische Erfahrung kann auch in Teilzeit absolviert werden. Die praktische Erfahrung kann alternativ auch als Rotation in verschiedenen Forschungslaboren erfüllt werden. Das Ziel der praktischen Erfahrung ist es, die Basiskompetenzen der Studierenden zu verfeinern, spezialisiertes psychologisches Wissen zu vertiefen und das professionelle Netzwerk der Studierenden zu erweitern. Die Praktische Erfahrung muss unter der Supervision eines Psychologen erfolgen und mit der gewählten Masteroption in Zusammenhang stehen. Die Aktivitäten und Lernerfahrungen während der praktischen Erfahrung oder Laborrotation müssen in einem schriftlichen Bericht beschrieben werden, der evaluiert wird.

Masterthese (30 ECTS)

Die Masterthese umfasst die Ausarbeitung eines Forschungsprojekts, das von den Studierenden durchgeführt wird und mit der gewählten Masteroption in Beziehung steht. Obgleich der gesamte Prozess durch eine Betreuungsperson begleitet wird, sind die Studierenden verantwortlich für die Vorbereitung des Projekts, die Rekrutierung der Versuchspersonen, die Durchführung der Studie sowie die Vorbereitung, Aufbereitung und statistischen Analyse der Daten. Zusätzlich müssen die Studierenden aktiv am Masterkolloquium teilnehmen. Als Abschluss schreiben die Studierenden eine schriftliche Masterthese, normalerweise in der Form eines ausführlichen Forschungsartikels. Die Masterthese kann in Englisch, Deutsch oder Französisch verfasst werden.

Modul III: SCAN (15 ECTS)

Das Modul “Soziale, kognitive und affektive Neurowissenschaften” umfasst Vorlesungen und spezialisierte Forschungsseminare mit einem Fokus auf Themen und Methoden der sozialen, kognitiven und affektiven Neurowissenschaften. In den spezialisierten Forschungsseminaren erwerben und üben die Studierenden wichtige Fähigkeiten der wissenschaftlichen Argumentation und Diskussionsführung sowie das Halten von wissenschaftlichen Vorträgen und das wissenschaftliche Schreiben. Bis zu 12 ECTS können in Kursen erworben werben, die in einem anderen Department, Fakultät oder Universität angeboten werden und mit dem Themengebiet der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften in Bezug stehen. Das Ziel des Moduls ist es, dass Studierende ihr Wissen in bestimmten spezialisierten Themen oder Methoden der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften vertiefen können. Die Kurse können in englischer, deutscher oder französischer Sprache durchgeführt werden. Allerdings werden die meisten Kurse in englischer Sprache gehalten. Das Modul III der Option „Kognitive Neurowissenschaften“ kann durch ein Spezialisierungsmodul ersetzt werden, das von einer anderen Masteroption des Departments für Psychologie angeboten wird.

Detaillierte Beschreibung der Spezialisierungsmodule des Master of Science in Psychologie

Alle Masteroptionen bieten ein oder zwei Spezialisierungsmodule an. Die von einer bestimmten Masteroption angebotenen Spezialisierungsmodule dürfen nur von den Studierenden gewählt werden, die nicht dieser Masteroption angehören. So können z.B. Studierende der Masteroption „Klinische Psychologie und Gesundheitspsychologie“ aus den Spezialisierungsmodulen der drei anderen Masteroptionen wählen (d.h. Kognitive Neurowissenschaften, Entwicklungs- & Schulpsychologie oder Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie).

1. Spezialisierungsmodule der Option “Klinische Psychologie und Gesundheitspsychologie” (F/D/BI/E)

Spezialisierungsmodul A (15 ECTS): Methoden und Anwendungen in Klinischer Psychologie und Familienpsychologie (CLIN A)

Dieses Spezialisierungsmodul beinhaltet Kurse zu methodischen Grundlagen der Klinischen Psychologie sowie zu ausgewählten Themen und Anwendungen der Klinischen Psychologie und klinischen Paar- und Familienpsychologie. Das Modul ermöglicht es den Studierenden, ein vertieftes Verständnis der Prozesse, die psychische individuelle oder interpersonelle Probleme und psychische Störungen bedingen, zu erwerben. Obwohl mehrere Kurse auf Französisch und Deutsch angeboten werden, kann dieses Modul im Prinzip auf Englisch abschlossen werden.

Spezialisierungsmodul B (15 ECTS): Methoden und Anwendungen in Klinischer Psych. und Gesundheitspsychologie (CLIN B)

Dieses Spezialisierungsmodul beinhaltet Kurse zu methodischen Grundlagen der Klinischen Psychologie sowie zu ausgewählten Themen und Anwendungen der Klinischen Psychologie und der Gesundheitspsychologie. Das Modul ermöglicht es den Studierenden, fundiertes Wissen über Prozesse, die Krankheit sowie psychische und physische Gesundheit mitbedingen, zu erwerben.

2. Spezialisierungsmodule der Option “Kognitive Neurowissenschaften” (E)

Spezialisierungsmodul A (15 ECTS): Aktuelle Themen der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften (NCS A)

Dieses Spezialisierungsmodul legt den Schwerpunkt auf Vorlesungen und Forschungsseminaren zu aktuellen Themenbereichen der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften. Das Ziel dieses Modul ist es, Studierenden ein fundiertes Wissen zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen und theoretischem Hintergründen der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften zu vermitteln. Einige Kurse mit einem Fokus auf Forschungsmethoden können ebenfalls belegt werden. Die meisten Vorlesungen und Seminare werden in englischer Sprache durchgeführt.

Spezialisierungsmodul B (15 ECTS): Methoden der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften (NCS B)

Dieses Spezialisierungsmodul legt den Schwerpunkt auf Forschungsseminaren zu und konkrete praktische Erfahrung mit wichtigen Forschungsmethoden der Kognitiven Neurowissenschaften. Das Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, Studierenden ein fundiertes Wissen zu gängigen Forschungsmethoden der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften zu vermitteln. Einige Kurse mit einem Fokus auf bestimmte inhaltliche Themenbereiche der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften können ebenfalls belegt werden. Die meisten Vorlesungen und Seminare werden in englischer Sprache durchgeführt.

3. Spezialisierungsmodul der Option “Entwicklungs- und Schulpsychologie” (F/E)

Spezialisierungsmodul A (15 ECTS): Entwicklungspsychologie (DEV A)

Das Spezialisierungsmodul Entwicklungspsychologie ermöglicht es den Studierenden, deren Master-Option nicht “Entwicklungs- & Schulpsychologie” ist, Grundlagenwissen über die typische und atypische Entwicklung des Kindes zu erwerben. Aktuelle Theorien sowohl der allgemeinen Entwicklung als auch des spezifischen Lernens und ihre Mechanismen werden durch die verschiedenen Kurse in diesem Modul behandelt. Obwohl die meisten Kurse in Französisch sind, könnten einige in englischer Sprache angeboten werden.

4. Spezialisierungsmodul der Option “Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie” (D/E)

Spezialisierungsmodul A (15 ECTS): “Occupational Health Psychology” und “Human Factors” (W&OA)

Das Modul bietet eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit zwei Forschungs- und Anwendungsbereichen der Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie: „Occupational Health Psychology“ und „Human Factors“. Die meisten Kurse finden in englischer Sprache statt. Dies beinhaltet Lehrveranstaltungen, wie beispielsweise betriebliche Gesundheitsförderung, Beruf und Familie, Mensch-Computer Interaktion und nutzergerechte Produktentwicklung. Im Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltungen werden neben theoretischen Kenntnissen auch praktische Kompetenzen erworben, wie beispielsweise die Gestaltung von Massnahmen der betrieblichen Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsförderung und die Durchführung von Usability-Tests. Obwohl mehrere Kurse auf Deutsch angeboten werden, kann dieses Modul im Prinzip auf Englisch abschlossen werden.

Studienprogramm ratifiziert


(neuro/de/19.07.2017)
Departement für Psychologie - R. Faucigny 2 - 1700 Freiburg - Tel +41 26 / 300 7620 - psychologie [at] unifr.ch   -   Swiss University