Titel Map Home Unifr

The Confessions

The Confessions is Augustine's work for the general public, easily accessible to any reader and available in translation in all the principal languages of the world.

Books 1-9 are an «autobiography», containing an account of his past from the start to his thirty-third year.

Book 10 is more introspective, describing the search for God in the human memory.

It is followed by three Books containing his meditation on human and divine nature, through a sequential exegesis of the creation narrative of Genesis.

Background image:
Beginning of the Confessions in the edition of Amerbach (Basel, 1505)

Translations of the Confessions shown on the picture:

  • Japanese
  • German
  • Chinese
  • Arabic
  • Portuguese
  • Greek
  • Russian
  The Confessions
Titel Top Back Next
© 2001-2004 Université Fribourg
Gregor Emmenegger Sieber