Home » Services at the library

Services at the library

Many of our licence to online journals and databases are provided through the Swiss Academic Libraries Consortium whose members are the university libraries, the Swiss National Library, the libraries of the ETH.

Some journals make their articles freely accessible after an embargo period, however, and you may find articles for free on the web, even if published in a toll access journal, since more and more papers are archived in servers all connected to dedicated search engines.

One version of an article is reserved to subscribers, another is openly accessible to everyone.

This page describes some major search tools. Some may be accessed through a subscription (), the others are free ()

Fulltext of Articles

Bioinformatics


Links to theses sites are given in the *Search engines* list on top of all the pages.

EZB Elektronische Zeitschriften Bibliothek

About
EZB is a database of online journals that we subscribed or journals which are freely accessible developed by the Library of the University of Regensburg. More then 450 european libraries are using and provide data to this catalogue. EZB can be used from any computer (e.g. from your home, your lab, the library or anywhere in the world) but access to the full text of articles, when they are subscribed to, is possible only from the university.
 
Using EZB
 
In French, Englisch, or in German

Web of Sciences

About
Published by the Thomson Reuters, the company which also publishes Endnote, Reference Manager, Current Contents, and which computes each year the Impact Factor of your favourite journals.

Web of Sciences is a web interface to databases which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. Coverage is not exhaustive, since journals are selected by Thomson: in the STM field more then 8'000 titles are indexed. From a reference found in WoS, you can navigate up to citing articles or back in time to cited articles. In the future, WoS should be linked to our full text journals. The full text of some articles can be reached in one click via this button ..

Using WoS
Many documents and tutorials are proposed by Thomson: from 10 minutes tutorials to more complete documents.

SciFinder scholar

About
From the American Chemical Society,Scifinder Scholar explores Chemical Abstracts Database: CAPLUS, Structure Database: REGISTRY, Reactions Database: CASREACT and MEDLINE.

Using SciFinder Scholar
 
See these Tutorials from ACS to effectively use SciFinder.
 

Scifinder Scholar now use the Web to access data and a registration has to be made.

PubMed

About
PubMed from NCBI is a free web interface to MEDLINE. About 4'000 journals are included. It provides biomedical data without delay since articles are linked directly by the publishers. List of all the databases.
Using PubMed
In short, PubMed allows one to make complex queries with operators. Things like ((dna [mh] OR human* [ti]) AND Cavalli-Sforza[au]) are allowed, but simpler step-by-step requests can also be made. Saving searches is possible, and these can be run automatically from PubMed from a personal account with MyNCBI. See the help on Pubmed for more information.

Google Scholar

About
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books ... Scholar's coverage is growing, and it allows navigating from an article to a cited article. Useful for finding an article, questionable for citation tracking (and searching in Google with Google Scholar" "web of science" or "Google Scholar" Scirus, will lead to a lot of interesting information).
Using Google Scholar

Base

About
Base stands for Bielefeld Academic Search Engine. A set from a search result can be filtered by authors, sources...
Using Base
By specific fields, two words in the same field are ANDed.

Vital IT

About
Vital IT is a bioinformatics competence centre paid by the Universities of Geneva, Lausanne, Berne and Fribourg, and the EPFL. By participating in Vital IT we benefit of the know-how and the computing power to  process biomedical data, for example high throughput biocomputing.
Using Vital IT
Please contact the Bioinformatics core facilty of the University of Fribourg.
Dokpe - Rue du Musée 4 - CH 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 92 65 - Fax +41 26 / 300 97 30
dokpe [at] unifr.ch - Swiss University

Home » Services

Les services de la bibliothèque

Une grande partie de nos accès électroniques aux journaux scientifiques, et aux bases de données bibliographiques sont régis par des licences conclues entre les éditeurs et le Consortium des bibliothèques Universitaires Suisses dont les membres sont les bibliothèques universitaires, la Bibliothèque nationale et les bibliothèques des ETH.

Ces licences ne sont parfois nécessaires que pour quelques mois puisque certains journaux donnent les articles gratuitement après une période d'embargo.

D'autre part, des articles publiés dans des journaux dont l'accès est restreint aux abonnés sont librement accessibles grâce aux serveurs de documents académiques, qui, bien que dispersés sur le réseau mondial, peuvent être recherché en une fois par des outils de recherches. Ainsi, des versions d'un article seront libres d'accès alors que la version publiée sera limitée aux abonnés du journal.

Cette page donne les principaux outils de recherches d'articles ou de journaux en ligne. Ceux qui sont obtenus par un abonnement (), ou ceux qui sont gratuits ().

Consultez ce catalogue zotero pour une liste plus exhaustive.

Serveurs de documents

Bioinformatique


L'accès à ces sites peut être retrouvé dans la liste déroulante *Search engines* en haut des pages.

EZB Elektronik Zeitschriftbibliothek

À propos
EZB est une base de données de journaux en ligne gratuits ou réservés ou accessibles avec un abonnement, développée par la Bibliothèque de l'Université de Regensburg. Plus de 450 bibliothèques européennes utilisent ses services. EZB peut être consulté depuis n'importe où avec les mêmes réponses (par ex. de votre domicile, votre labo, ou n'importe où ailleurs) mais l'accès sur abonnement aux articles n'est possible que depuis le réseau de l'Université.
Utiliser EZB
Manuel en français, anglais, ou allemand

Web of Sciences

À propos
Thomson Reuters, qui est l'éditeur de WoS , publie aussi Endnote, Reference Manager, Current Contents, et calcul chaque année le Facteur d'Impacte de vos journaux favoris.

Web of Sciences est l'interface web à la base de données qui couvre plus de 8'000 journaux académiques en sciences, sciences sociales, sciences humaines. Cette couverture n'est pas complète, certains journaux étant retenus par Thomson: Dans le domaine des sciences et techniques, plus de 8'000 titres sont dépouillés. À partir d'une référence trouvée dans WoS il est possible de voir les articles qui la citent, ou les articles cités par elle. Le texte intégral de certains articles peut être obtenu rapidement grâce à ce bouton .

Utiliser WoS
Plusieurs documents et manuels sont proposés d'un manuel lu en 10 minutes à des explications plus complètes.

SciFinder scholar

À propos
Publié par l'American Chemical Society, SciFinder Scholar permet de consulter les bases de données CAPLUS (références et résumés d'articles), REGISTRY (structures chimiques), CASREACT (réactions chimiques) et MEDLINE (la même base de données qu'offre PubMed) .
Utiliser SciFinder Scholar
Consultez ces manuels pour tirer le meilleur parti de SciFinder. SciFinder utilise maintenant une interface Web et un nouvel utilisateur doit s'enregistrer.

PubMed

À propos
PubMed du NCBI était initialement une interface web à MEDLINE consultable librement. Actuellement, plus de 5'000 journaux sont inclus. Les articles peuvent être lus rapidement si nous y avons accès car le lien vers le texte est indiqué dans la référence. Mais, combiné aux données bibliographiques, PubMed est surtout devenu un outil de recherches simultanées dans les bases de données de séquences moléculaires (ensemble des bases de données).
Utiliser PubMed
En bref, PubMed permet des recherches en utilisant des opérateurs. Ainsi quelque chose comme ((dna [mh] OR human* [ti]) AND Cavalli-Sforza[au]) est possible, mais le même résultat peut être obtenu en combinant des étapes plus simples (plus de détails). Il est possible de sauvegarder des recherches, et ces dernières peuvent être lancées automatiquement en créant un compte MyNCBI.

Google Scholar

À propos
Google Scholar offre une manière simple de rechercher des références d' articles, quelque soient la discipline, la source, etc., avec une couverture croissante. Certains références mènent au contenu de l'article, d'autres conduisent à des sites pour lesquels nous n'avons pas d'abonnement. Scholar utilise aussi les citations et permet d'obtenir la liste des articles cités. Très utile pour trouver le texte d'un article, probablement trop peu contrôlé pour des comptages de citations (et rechercher dans google avec"google scholar" "web of science" ou "google scholar" scirus, donnera un tas d'informations intéressantes).
Utiliser Google Scholar
 

Base

À propos
Base (Bielefeld Accademic Search Engine) utilise le protocole OAI-PMH pour constituer les index à rechercher. Il permet de restreindre une recherche à un sous-ensemble à l'aide de filtre: noms d'auteurs, journal...
Utiliser Base

Vital IT

À propos
Vital IT est un centre de compétence en biofinformatique financé par les universités de Genève, Lausanne, Berne et Fribourg, ainsi que par l'EPFL.  Notre participation à Vital IT nous donne accès à l'expertise et à la puissance de calcul nécessaires à l'exploitation des données en biologie et en médecine, en particulier celles issues du séquençage à haut débit.
Utiliser Vital IT
Contactez l'antenne de Vital IT à l'Université de Fribourg.
Dokpe - Rue du Musée 4 - CH 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 92 65 - Fax +41 26 / 300 97 30
dokpe [at] unifr.ch - Swiss University