Home » Services at the library

Services at the library

Many of our licence to online journals and databases are provided through the Swiss Academic Libraries Consortium whose members are the university libraries, the Swiss National Library, the libraries of the ETH.

Some journals make their articles freely accessible after an embargo period, however, and you may find articles for free on the web, even if published in a toll access journal, since more and more papers are archived in servers all connected to dedicated search engines.

One version of an article is reserved to subscribers, another is openly accessible to everyone.

This page describes some major search tools. Some may be accessed through a subscription (), the others are free ()

Fulltext of Articles

Bioinformatics


Links to theses sites are given in the *Search engines* list on top of all the pages.

EZB Elektronische Zeitschriften Bibliothek

About
EZB is a database of online journals that we subscribed or journals which are freely accessible developed by the Library of the University of Regensburg. More then 450 european libraries are using and provide data to this catalogue. EZB can be used from any computer (e.g. from your home, your lab, the library or anywhere in the world) but access to the full text of articles, when they are subscribed to, is possible only from the university.
 
Using EZB
 
In French, Englisch, or in German

Web of Sciences

About
Published by the Thomson Reuters, the company which also publishes Endnote, Reference Manager, Current Contents, and which computes each year the Impact Factor of your favourite journals.

Web of Sciences is a web interface to databases which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. Coverage is not exhaustive, since journals are selected by Thomson: in the STM field more then 8'000 titles are indexed. From a reference found in WoS, you can navigate up to citing articles or back in time to cited articles. In the future, WoS should be linked to our full text journals. The full text of some articles can be reached in one click via this button ..

Using WoS
Many documents and tutorials are proposed by Thomson: from 10 minutes tutorials to more complete documents.

SciFinder scholar

About
From the American Chemical Society,Scifinder Scholar explores Chemical Abstracts Database: CAPLUS, Structure Database: REGISTRY, Reactions Database: CASREACT and MEDLINE.

Using SciFinder Scholar
 
See these Tutorials from ACS to effectively use SciFinder.
 

Scifinder Scholar now use the Web to access data and a registration has to be made.

PubMed

About
PubMed from NCBI is a free web interface to MEDLINE. About 4'000 journals are included. It provides biomedical data without delay since articles are linked directly by the publishers. List of all the databases.
Using PubMed
In short, PubMed allows one to make complex queries with operators. Things like ((dna [mh] OR human* [ti]) AND Cavalli-Sforza[au]) are allowed, but simpler step-by-step requests can also be made. Saving searches is possible, and these can be run automatically from PubMed from a personal account with MyNCBI. See the help on Pubmed for more information.

Google Scholar

About
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books ... Scholar's coverage is growing, and it allows navigating from an article to a cited article. Useful for finding an article, questionable for citation tracking (and searching in Google with Google Scholar" "web of science" or "Google Scholar" Scirus, will lead to a lot of interesting information).
Using Google Scholar

Base

About
Base stands for Bielefeld Academic Search Engine. A set from a search result can be filtered by authors, sources...
Using Base
By specific fields, two words in the same field are ANDed.

Vital IT

About
Vital IT is a bioinformatics competence centre paid by the Universities of Geneva, Lausanne, Berne and Fribourg, and the EPFL. By participating in Vital IT we benefit of the know-how and the computing power to  process biomedical data, for example high throughput biocomputing.
Using Vital IT
Please contact the Bioinformatics core facilty of the University of Fribourg.
Dokpe - Rue du Musée 4 - CH 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 92 65 - Fax +41 26 / 300 97 30
dokpe [at] unifr.ch - Swiss University

Home » Dienstleistungen

Dienstleistungen der Bibliothek

Viele unserer lizenzierten Online-Zeitschriften und Datenbanken werden durch das Konsortium der Schweizer Hochschulbibliotheken bereitgestellt, dessen Mitglieder die Universitätsbibliotheken, die Schweizer Nationalbibliothek und die Bibliotheken der ETH sind.

Manche Zeitschriften belassen ihre Artikel, nach einer kurzen Sperrfrist, für alle frei zugänglich.

Anderseits kann man, dank Servern mit Akademischen Dokumenten, auf dem Web trotzdem Artikel aus Zeitschriften finden, deren Zugang eigenlich eingeschränkt ist. Tatsächlich wird die Zahl der von solchen Servern zur Verfügung gestellten Artikeln immer grösser. Obwohl sich diese Server weit verstreut im Netz befinden können sie dank Suchhilfen alle auf einmal durchsucht werden. Demnach ist eine Version des Artikels frei zugänglich während eine andere nur den Abonnenten der Zeitschrift zur Verfügung steht.

Diese Seite beschreibt die wichtigsten Suchhilfen. Einige erlauben den Zugang nur durch ein Abonnent (), andere sind frei zugänglich ().

Volltext der Artikel

Bioinformatik


Links zu diesen Seiten befinden sich in der *Search engines* Liste oben auf allen Seiten.

EZB Elektronische Zeitschriften Bibliothek

Über
EZB ist eine Datenbank von elektronischen Zeitschriften die durch die Universität Regensburg entwickelt wurde. Mehr als 450 Universitäten benutzen diesen Dienst. EZB kann von überall konsultiert werden (z.B. von eurem Zuhause, eurem Labor oder irgendwo sonst) aber Zugang zu den Artikeln im Volltext erhält man nur durch Zugang über das Netz von der Universität.
 
Benutzen von EZB
 
In Französisch, Englisch, oder in Deutsch

Web of Sciences

Über
Herausgegeben von Thomson Reuters, der selbe Betrieb der auch Endnote, Reference Manager und Current Contents publiziert. Auch kalkuliert Thomson Reuters jedes Jahr den Impaktfaktor von euren favorisierten Zeitschriften.

Web of Sciences ist ein Web Interface zu einer Datenbank die über 8'000 internationale Zeitschriften von Naturwissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften und Humanwissenschaften enthält. Der Umfang ist nicht komplett, einige Zeitschriften werden von Thomson zurückgehalten. Im Bereich von Wissenschaft und Technik sind über 8'000 Titel im Index. Anhand einer Referenz die im WoS gefunden wird, ist es möglich die Artikel zu sehen die zitiert werden, oder auch die Artikel von denen der Artikel zitiert wird. Der volle Text einiger Artikel kann schnell über diesen Button erreicht werden.

Benutzen von WoS
Viele Dokumente und Tutorials werden von Thomson vorgeschlagen: vom 10 Minuten Tutorial bis hin zu kompletteren Dokumenten.

SciFinder scholar

Über
Herausgegeben von der American Chemical Society, erlaubt Scifinder Scholar die Datenbanken CAPLUS (Zusammenfassungen von Artikeln), REGISTRY (Chemische Strukturen) und MEDLINE (Gleiche Datenbanken die PubMed beinhalt)

Gebrauch von SciFinder Scholar
 
Beachten Sie die Anleitungen um Scifinder zu benuetzen.
 

Scifinder Scholar nutzt nun ein Webinterface und neue Benutzer müssen sich jetzt hier registrieren.

PubMed

Über
PubMed von NCBI ist ein freies Web interface für MEDLINE, das über 4'000 Zeitschriften beinhaltet. Die Artikel können relativ schnell gelesen werden, da der Link in der Referenzliste angezeigt wird. PubMed eignet sich gut für die Suche in Datenbanken von molekularen Sequenzen: Liste den Datenbank.
PubMed benutzen
Mit PubMed können Suchen mit Hilfe von Operatoren gemacht werden . Sachen wie ((dna [mh] OR human* [ti]) AND Cavalli-Sforza[au]) für eine Suche sind erlaubt, aber das gleiche Resultat kann auch durch eine einfachere Kombination erreicht werden. Suchresultate können abgespeichert und wieder abgerufen werden. Dazu muss ein Benutzerkonto kreiert werden mit MyNCBI. Siehe Hilfe in Pubmed für mehr Informationen.

Google Scholar

Über
Google Scholar ist ein einfacher Weg um in verschiedenen Sachbereichen und Quellen zu suchen: Einige Quellenangaben führen direkt zu Artikeln, zu Literaturverzeichnissen oder zu Webseiten von Zeitschriften zu welchen Dokpe nur zum Teil Zugang hat. Google Scholar ist sehr hilfreich um den Text eines Artikels zu finden. (Für mehr Informationen geben Sie "google scholar" "web of science" or "google scholar" scirus, bei google ein).
 
Google Scholar benutzen
 

Base

Über
Base ( Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) basiert auf der selben Technologie wie Oaister. der einzige Unterschied ist, dass die indizierten Datenquellen durch Autoren gefiltert und ausgewählt werden...
Base benutzen
Zwei Wörter werden in einem Feld automatisch zusammen kombiniert.

Vital IT

Über
Vital IT ist eine biofinformatik Kompetenzentrum durch die Universitäten Genf, Lausanne, Bern und Freiburg, und den EPFL finanziert
Vital IT benutzen
Sprechen Sie die Vital IT Antenne in der Universität an.
Dokpe - Rue du Musée 4 - CH 1700 Fribourg - Tel +41 26 / 300 92 65 - Fax +41 26 / 300 97 30
dokpe [at] unifr.ch - Swiss University