Information for refugees wishing to study at the University of Fribourg

The University of Fribourg has a long tradition of welcoming people who have had to leave their countries for political reasons. Therefore, it is with pleasure that we open our doors to refugees, to give them the opportunity to pursue their studies initiated in their country of origin or to start a new academic curriculum at the University of Fribourg.

Possibilities to enter UniFR

  • Auditor: any person over 18 years of age can follow, as an auditor, the majority of the courses offered by the University of Fribourg. The status of auditor is a great way to step (back) into the academic world, discover the University of Fribourg and test the course levels, as well as the language skills required. However, auditors do not have the possibility to validate credits or pass exams. They can only receive a written confirmation for the courses they have attended.
    Additional information

  • Regular student: refugee candidates must fulfill the current conditions of admission as any other candidate to the University of Fribourg. People who meet the requirement for an admission to bachelor or master studies can submit their application to the Office for Admissions and Registration.
    Additional information : Bachelor / Master


    In certain cases, a special procedure can be applied for refugees who have been granted asylum in Switzerland and who are not able to present some or all of their diplomas and/or transcripts. However, the conditions of admission must be fulfilled.


    The Admission and Registration
    Office is available for individual appointments and is pleased to advise refugee candidates as to the completing of their application files.

    Teaching and working languages at the University of Fribourg are usually French and German. It is therefore mandatory to have sufficient language skills in one of these two languages. In addition, a proof of language skills must be provided for an admission to bachelor studies.

    Additional information

  • Student 30+: any person who does not hold a diploma allowing an admission to the University of Fribourg and who is 30 years of age and over can submit an application for admission 30+.
    Additional information

 

Additional services for students registered at UniFR

  • Language Center: the Language Center of the University of Fribourg offers group language courses, including French and German. Autonomous learning methods are also offered to those wishing to learn a language individually.
    Link to the Language Center

  • Uni-Social: Uni-Social offers support and advice to students, eg. psychosocial counselling or support with administrative procedures.
    Link to Uni-Social

 

University of Fribourg   -   Office for Admissions and Registration  -   Rue de Rome 1   -   CH-1700 Fribourg
phone +41 26 300 7020    -   fax +41 26 / 300 9790   -    contact   -   Swiss University

Informations destinées aux réfugié·e·s souhaitant étudier à l'Université de Fribourg

L’Université de Fribourg dispose d’une longue tradition d’accueil de personnes ayant dû quitter leur pays pour des raisons politiques. Ainsi, c’est avec plaisir que nous ouvrons nos portes aux réfugié·e·s, pour leur offrir la possibilité de poursuivre des études entamées dans leur pays d’origine ou débuter un nouveau cursus au sein de l’Université de Fribourg.

Voies d’accès aux enseignements de l’UniFR

  • Auditeur : toute personne âgée de 18 ans au moins peut suivre la majorité des cours offerts par l'Université de Fribourg en qualité d’auditeur. Le statut d’auditeur est une excellente manière de (re)mettre un pied dans le monde universitaire, découvrir l’Université de Fribourg et tester le niveau des cours, ainsi que le niveau de langue nécessaire. Toutefois, les auditrices et auditeurs n’ont pas la possibilité de valider des crédits ou passer des examens, il leur est uniquement possible de recevoir une attestation pour les cours suivis.
    Informations complémentaires
     
  • Etudiant régulier : au même titre que tous les candidat·e·s à l’Université de Fribourg, les candidat·e·s réfugié·e·s doivent remplir les conditions d’admission en vigueur. Les personnes qui remplissent les conditions d’admission pour des études de Bachelor ou de Master peuvent déposer une demande d’admission standard auprès du Service d’admission et d’inscription.
    Informations complémentaires : Bachelor / Master

    Dans certains cas, il existe une procédure particulière pour les réfugié·e·s ayant obtenu l'asile en Suisse et qui ne peuvent pas présenter une partie ou tous leurs diplômes et/ou relevés de notes. Toutefois, les conditions d’admission doivent être remplies.

    Le Service d’admission et d’inscription se tient à disposition pour un entretien personnel et conseille volontiers les candidat·e·s réfugié·e·s pour la constitution de leur dossier d’admission.

    Les langues d’enseignement et de travail à l’Université de Fribourg sont en principe le français et l’allemand. Il est donc obligatoire de disposer de compétences linguistiques suffisantes dans l’une de ces deux langues. Par ailleurs, pour une admission aux études de Bachelor, il est nécessaire de fournir une preuve de compétences linguistiques.
    Informations complémentaires

  • Etudiant 30+ : les personnes qui ne sont pas titulaires d’un diplôme permettant l’admission à l’Université de Fribourg et qui sont âgées de 30 ans et plus peuvent déposer un dossier pour une admission 30+. Informations complémentaires

Services complémentaires pour les étudiant·e·s inscrit·e·s à l’UniFR

  • Centre de langues : le Centre de langues de l’Université de Fribourg propose des cours collectifs de langues, notamment française et allemande. Il existe également la possibilité d’apprendre une langue de manière individuelle grâce à des méthodes autonomes.
    Lien vers le Centre de langues

  • Uni-Social : Uni-Social propose de l’aide et des conseils aux étudiant·e·s, comme par exemple des conseils dans le domaine psycho-social ou du soutien dans les démarches administratives.
    Lien vers Uni-Social

 

Université de Fribourg   -   Service d'admission et d'inscription   -   Rue de Rome 1    -   CH-1700 Fribourg
  tél. +41 26 300 7020    -   fax +41 26 / 300 9790   -    contact   -   Swiss University