Information for refugees wishing to study at the University of Fribourg

The University of Fribourg has a long tradition of welcoming people who have had to leave their countries for political reasons. Therefore, it is with pleasure that we open our doors to refugees, to give them the opportunity to pursue their studies initiated in their country of origin or to start a new academic curriculum at the University of Fribourg.

Possibilities to enter UniFR

  • Auditor: any person over 18 years of age can follow, as an auditor, the majority of the courses offered by the University of Fribourg. The status of auditor is a great way to step (back) into the academic world, discover the University of Fribourg and test the course levels, as well as the language skills required. However, auditors do not have the possibility to validate credits or pass exams. They can only receive a written confirmation for the courses they have attended.
    Additional information

  • Regular student: refugee candidates must fulfill the current conditions of admission as any other candidate to the University of Fribourg. People who meet the requirement for an admission to bachelor or master studies can submit their application to the Office for Admissions and Registration.
    Additional information : Bachelor / Master


    In certain cases, a special procedure can be applied for refugees who have been granted asylum in Switzerland and who are not able to present some or all of their diplomas and/or transcripts. However, the conditions of admission must be fulfilled.


    The Admission and Registration
    Office is available for individual appointments and is pleased to advise refugee candidates as to the completing of their application files.

    Teaching and working languages at the University of Fribourg are usually French and German. It is therefore mandatory to have sufficient language skills in one of these two languages. In addition, a proof of language skills must be provided for an admission to bachelor studies.

    Additional information

  • Student 30+: any person who does not hold a diploma allowing an admission to the University of Fribourg and who is 30 years of age and over can submit an application for admission 30+.
    Additional information

 

Additional services for students registered at UniFR

  • Language Center: the Language Center of the University of Fribourg offers group language courses, including French and German. Autonomous learning methods are also offered to those wishing to learn a language individually.
    Link to the Language Center

  • Uni-Social: Uni-Social offers support and advice to students, eg. psychosocial counselling or support with administrative procedures.
    Link to Uni-Social

 

University of Fribourg   -   Office for Admissions and Registration  -   Rue de Rome 1   -   CH-1700 Fribourg
phone +41 26 300 7020    -   fax +41 26 / 300 9790   -    contact   -   Swiss University

Informationen für Flüchtlinge, die an der Universität Freiburg studieren möchten

Die Universität Freiburg verfügt über eine lange Tradition in der Aufnahme von Personen, die ihr Land aus politischen Gründen verlassen mussten. Flüchtlinge haben an unserer Universität die Möglichkeit, das in ihrem Herkunftsland begonnene Studium fortzusetzen oder ein neues Studium zu beginnen.

Zugangsmöglichkeiten zu Lehrveranstaltungen der UniFR

  • Hörer: Jede Person, die mindestens 18 Jahre alt ist, kann einen Grossteil der von der Universität Freiburg angebotenen Lehrveranstaltungen als Hörer besuchen. Der Status „Hörer“ bietet eine hervorragende Gelegenheit, um in die Hochschulwelt (wieder-)einzusteigen, die Universität Freiburg kennenzulernen, das Vorlesungsniveau wie auch das nötige Sprachniveau zu testen. Hörerinnen und Hörer haben allerdings nicht die Möglichkeit, Kreditpunkte zu validieren oder Prüfungen abzulegen. Es kann ihnen lediglich eine Bestätigung über die besuchten Vorlesungen ausgestellt werden.
    Weitere Informationen

  • Regulärer Student: Genau wie alle anderen Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten der Universität Freiburg, müssen Flüchtlinge die bestehenden Zulassungsbedingungen erfüllen. Personen, welche die Zulassungsbedingungen für ein Bachelor- oder Masterstudium erfüllen, können bei der Dienststelle für Zulassung und Einschreibung ein normales Zulassungsgesuch einreichen.
    Weitere Informationen: Bachelor / Master

  Ein Sonderverfahren besteht in bestimmten Fällen für Flüchtlinge, die
  in der Schweiz Asyl erhalten haben und nicht alle oder keines ihrer
  Diplôme und/oder Notennachweise vorweisen können. Die
  Zulassungsbedingungen müssen dennoch erfüllt werden.

  Die Dienststelle für Zulassung und Einschreibung steht Flüchtlingen für
  ein persönliches Gespräch zur Verfügung und berät diese gerne
  hinsichtlich der Zusammenstellung ihres Anmeldedossiers.

  Unterrichts- und Arbeitssprachen an der Universität Freiburg sind
  prinzipiell Französisch und Deutsch. Daher sind ausreichende
  Sprachkompetenzen in einer dieser beiden Sprachen notwendig.
  Zudem muss für die Zulassung zu einem Bachelor-Studiengang der
  Nachweis ausreichender Sprachkompetenzen erbracht werden.
  Weitere Informationen

  • Student 30+: Personen, die mindestens 30 Jahre alt sind, jedoch keinen Vorbildungsausweis besitzen, der zur Zulassung an die Universität Freiburg berechtigt, können ein Zulassungsgesuch 30+ einreichen.
    Weitere Informationen

 

Weitere Dienstleistungen für an der UniFR eingeschriebene Studierende

  • Sprachenzentrum: Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Freiburg bietet Sprachkurse in Gruppen an, insbesondere Deutsch- und Französischkurse. Ebenso besteht dank autodidaktischer Materialien die Möglichkeit, eine Sprache autonom zu erlernen.
    Link zum Sprachenzentrum

     
  • Uni-Social: Uni-Social bietet den Studierenden Hilfe und Beratung an, beispielsweise im psychosozialen Bereich oder bei administrativen Angelegenheiten.
    Link zu Uni-Social

 

Universität Freiburg    -   Dienststelle für Zulassung und Einschreibung   -   Rue de Rome 1    -   CH-1700 Freiburg
Tel. +41 26 300 7020    -   Fax +41 26 / 300 9790   -    Kontakt   -   Swiss University